Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Timonium, MD
Students enrolled: 586
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pinewood Elementary School 2

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
The school has changed greatly over the time my three students have attended. It no longer is a genuine happy place and the tension is almost palatable. In meetings where the principal is present, it is evident that she is the cause of the tension. She exudes happiness at one moment and almost scorn at another. People do not see her vision through her actions and are afraid of her retributions if you get on her wrong side. Many of the teachers hide from her, which is not as difficult as it seems as she often is in her office and rarely seen around the school. I stopped volunteering this year because she would see me in the hall and not even address me, even though I had been active in the PTA up until last year. Very unhappy school on the downward slope. So sad.

Pinewood Elementary School 1

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
Why are so many awesome, dedicated, quality teachers trying so badly to leave Pinewood Elementary this year? And why aren't they being told where they will be working next year? It's the last day of school and teachers still do not have their assignments for next year. How is the principal going to recruit staff near as talented as all of the great staff transferring out?


Pinewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
The school is wonderful with excellent After School programs like Art Clubs, Spelling Bee, Math24, Black Saga & Early Bird Gym. They however do not have good entry/exit points, if you are dropping kids to school by car. The school district border was recently rezoned, to eliminate areas to minimize overcrowding.

Pinewood Elementary School 2

Posted August 04, 2013
- a community member
The teachers don't help students as much as at other schools. They need to improve that.

Pinewood Elementary School 4

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
The previous review mentions the prinicpal's race as the cause of her poor reviews. That is simply not true. As some first year principals do, she had a terrible first year. She has displayed improvement during her second year, particularly in dealing with interpersonal skills towards both parents and her faculty. Although she has a long way to go, she is learning that leadership does not need to be handled in a heavy-handed manner. Again, her lack of interpersonal skills were one of the main causes for her lack of success, not the perceived rascism of the families she interacts with.


Pinewood Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
My two kids go to Pinewood and it's a great school. Teachers are excellent and principal is also nice. I do have to say that the school is not as mixed as the previous schools my kids went to before pinewood, so it took a little adjustment. I seriously think a lot of the comments below are because the principal is an African American principal in a primarily Caucasian school. Principals have to follow guidelines and if they do not agree with something then they are the bad ones. I see lots of praises on the AP, but of course she is white. It's sad how race always plays an issue. If the school test goes down then she is not doing her job, but if the testing grades are good then she is doing her job.

Pinewood Elementary School 1

Posted November 18, 2011
- a community member
Not satisfied how this school is applying behavior policy. They are more concerned about kids fingerpointing than they are about education.

Pinewood Elementary School 2

Posted November 14, 2011
- a parent
The new principal is out to prove something to the parents. A few years back I was proud of Pinewood but I really don't like the direction the school has taken. I'm glad this is the last year there for my child.


Pinewood Elementary School 4

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
Teachers are amazing, but the recent turnover at the top has caused a setback. The new principal's attitude has certainly contributed to that; she's rubbed more than a few parents the wrong way. But the new assistant principal, who just started this year, seems promising. Hopefully she'll stay.

Pinewood Elementary School 3

Posted July 25, 2011
- a parent
I have to agree with the other reviewer, the new principal has brought the atmosphere in the school down. She seems very antagonistic towards parents. I rated the teachers three stars because between my two children I have had wonderful teachers and horrible teachers. There isn't a strong consistency and when trying to deal with the administration regarding any issues it can be difficult because of the new principles poor people skills. I wish I could be more enthusiastic.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pinewood Elementary School
200 Rickswood Rd, Timonium, MD  21093
(410) 887-7663
Last modified Pinewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pinewood Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top