Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pot Spring Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 610 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2013

Pot spring elementary is amazing great teachers classes and so much more. Nice principle and assistant principle too!


Posted June 2, 2012

From an educational stand point, PSE is a very good school, with very good teachers. Unfortunately, they do not see the child as an individual, just a potential MSA score, and it shows. If your child needs anything more than basic instruction, they will not get it here. Parents who are not able to volunteer in class are treated like subhumans by the other parents and faculty.


Posted May 6, 2011

This school has functioned for educational purposes at an above average level for a child who needs no assistance or a lot of assistance. The school is not well equiped to assist those in the middle. The teachers in KG and 1st grade are excellent. The other grades have some strong teachers, but also some weaker teachers. There are many classes per grade (3-5) and with the younger teachers and administration (which is also young and inexperienced) consistency and appropriate enforcement of communication has seemed to be a struggle for many of the parents and families over the last 2 years. After having 2 bad years in a row, we will move our children elsewhere to try to prevent further damage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

Pot Spring is simply the best school in the community. A very good learning environment with excellent and very friendly staff, always ready to help out in any way they can. This all put together is an excellent package.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

The best school this community. Very active parent involvement. The children are eager, happy, and ready to learn. They are celebrated as individuals. Best Regards KK mother of CB
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

My son, age 5, attends the pre-kindergarten program at Pot Spring. I am very pleased with the teacher and support staff that work with the children in the classroom. They teach respectful behavior by example. Next year he will be off to a different school and I will be very sad to see him leave this nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

My daughter has been attending Pot Spring for 2 years now. I have nothing but the best to say about this school. The teachers are all very well educated and caring, they all seem to put the childrens education above and beyond their own wants and needs. They are committed to the children and just simply wonderful...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

We moved in the USA this year and my daughter started her educational life in Pot Spring. We are feeling lucky. Physical and social environment are excellent. All staff are dedicated to their jobs. We are grateful to my daughter's all teachers who have established a smooth transition for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

Pot Spring Elementary is simply quality greatness and outstanding education for my son and all kids who attend their! Teachers are excellent and highly motivated to teach. Teachers and staff are so kind and understanding and very patient. We love this school. Our son Marel is improving and he loves his school. The reading specialist is outstanding. The behavior charts are great communication between teacher and parent which I think is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

My daughter started in Kindergarten a little more than a month ago. Her teacher Mrs. Wolinski is a wonderful person who has taken the time to make sure my daughter was 'accepted' by her new peers. I have seen my daughter flourish since she started at Pot Spring. I am very pleased with the approach to academics as well as the parental involvement that is encouraged. I could not be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

This school is amazing! All students have a friend, and even though this is a very social school the teachers are amazing. Mostly, they know how to control the kids, while having a bit of fun. I also love the physical education teacher that the school has acqired this year. He is very nice and respectful. All the students love him; almost like a child loves his/her father.I hope great work is shown this year at pot spring and I wish them luck.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 17, 2004

Pot Spring is a good school with approximately 700 students attending. It is very mixed ethnically speaking and has a fantastic ESOL program with a wonderful teacher. The programs are enhanced by a dedicated PTA with social as well as educational committments. New administration will be in place this year (04-05) and some changes are bound to improve the academic structure. The only area lacking is the social developement and values education. The values programs and the way the children are treated and disciplined lacks greatly in achieving any real goal. Overall it is a great place with great kids and parents. Most of the teachers are fantastic. You can always have a bad apple on any good tree as you can have good apples on bad ones. Pot Spring is no different.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 42%
Black 26% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 6%
Hispanic 13% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School counslor
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School counslor
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2410 Spring Lake Dr
Timonium, MD 21093
Phone: (410) 887-7648

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Villa Maria School At St Vincent's
Lutherville-Timonium, MD




Warren Elementary School
Cockeysville, MD



Epworth Childrens Center
Cockeysville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT