Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timonium Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2013

Timonium Elementary struggles with a lot of bullying issues! The principle is not helpful with bullying issues as she often supports the instigator and reprimands others, including concerned parents, making various exscuses! It's really unfair and she is acting like the "Head Bully!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

Timonium is a great school if you are looking for a mediocre education. There is absolutely no creative teaching done at this school. Every assignment is done on a photocopy. That is courtesy of the great parent involvement. All parents are expected to come in and photocopy for the teachers. Bullying runs rampant in this school. I know bullying exists every where but here the principal actually makes excuses for the instigator! The principal actually thinks that she does not need to follow county guidelines on many issues and implements her own. If your child has a learning difference this is also not the school for you. This school is focused on it's GT program not on remediating any student that is double exceptional, dyslexic, dysgraphic, dyscalculia, ADD, ADHD, slow processing speed, low executive function etc. My advice is if you have a child with any type of need and are looking to move into the district and don't want to spend hundreds a month on tutoring don't move where you would be zoned for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

We couldn't be happier with this school. My child transferred from a local parochial school at a non-traditional time of year. The kids and teachers were very welcoming. The curriculum is challenging and engaging, and not just for the "GT" set. In third grade, all the kids do an Economics Unit where they make a product, market it through posters in the school, sell it, and vote on a charity to receive any profits. Very hands-on. Currently my child is earnestly telling me about different jump-rope tricks to be mastered, taught in school during Phys Ed. My child needed Gifted and Talented which means that for Math and Reading, the kids do 4th grade work starting in the spring of 3rd grade. This is exactly what I was looking for-- to be with kids the same age, but doing more demanding work. The way it is structured in Reading makes it pretty easy to see if your kid is ready to move up or needs to take it slower-- also something I wanted. Different levels, b/c kids are learning at different levels, whether they are offered or not. A little shout-out to Miss Gloria, who doesn't teach my child, but made sure my kid felt welcomed when new at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

Absolutely the best school in the county. I have never seen a teacher let a child slide. Each teacher I have dealt with has been very receptive to feedback and I feel that they all genuinely love teaching and love having successful students. The parent and community involvement is incredible. The children are well-behaved and love going to school. I don't know why people pay for private school in this area. Our kids consistently win county and state-level awards for science and art. Our MSA's are always in the high 90th percentile. You can't do better than this. Bravo to Timonium's teachers, parents and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

Great school. I attended Timonium myself, and had a wonderful experience. The teachers were friendly and engaging, and the class size was perfect.


Posted September 21, 2009

Timonium elementary is a great school least of all for it's impressive test scores, and most of all for its wonderful teachers, parents and their commitment to cooperation and excellence. It is truly a community based school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Timonium Elementary is a great place to children to learn in a comfortable, loving and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

love the school, the teachers and for that matter all the staff are caring, supporative and go beyond the call of duty!!!! my kids love getting up and going to school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Timonium has wonderful teachers and is a loving, safe, and nurturing environment for our kids to learn. They create new and fun activities to encourage our kids to learn in unique ways. And they support traditions that have been well loved over the years. My kids love to go to school and have made fast friends and are getting a good basis to which to grow into responsible young people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

Timonium is the best elementary school in Baltimore county. The staff is always professional and courteous, and the educational programs is the best! I have an autistic son, and for me, the staff here has been the most patient, considerate bunch of educators in the state of Maryland! Kudos to Timonium because you deserve it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

Timonium is the perfect elementary school. The small size makes it very homey and the principal knows all of the children. It draws children from wonderful neighborhoods. The curriculum is top notch. Parent involvement is strong. The teachers are wonderful and tuly care about the children. We chose this school over local private schools because after extensive research, we found the test scores were higher, the education far exceeded that of the nearby parochial schools (especially in reading) and we liked that our children would be part of their local neighborhood and community and meet all the children in the area rather than going to school with kids driven in from all around town. It is a wonderful feeling being a part of this community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

This scholl has top notch teachers with the help of some top notch parents. That makes the biggest difference that parents stay involved. The curriculum has been wonderful. The 1st graders are learning things that I didn't learn until 3rd grade. Isay teach them early and they;ll retain it. The music program is wonderful too. They make sure they have the new items to experiment with. Not all baby songs either, they play motzart too. Any music teacher taht takes time to teach 1st year instrument players harder and more involved songs is making sure that they stick with it. The priccipal knows almost if not everyones name. That is so personal and great to see her say hello to any student by their names, instead of saying 'excuse me you' Making it about the kids makes all the difference. I have never heard anyone there say negative things about anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

My daughter's academic and social experience at Timonium has been nothing short of spectacular. It is a very old fashioned elementary school, where teachers and principals care and love their students. They fully prepare their students for middle school. The parents are extremely active in the PTA and they constantly drive Timonium to new heights. That is why they are a National Blue Ribbon School and have been since 2003.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

Wonderful school! The involvement of the principal, teachers and parents is phenomenal. My daughter has some 'learning differences' and the teachers have been exceptional. Hats off! Only criticism is the relative paucity of afternoon programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

Timonium School is a fabulous place for children. The teachers truly care and encourage all children to be the best they can be. The caring nurturing environment can be felt as soon as you enter the building. I could not be any happier. Great job Timonium!!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2006

This school is exceptional. My family deliberately moved to Timonium, so my son could have an education that some TES parents have described as even higher quality than local prep school costing over $20,000 per year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

Great school. The teachers are experienced, caring and engaging. The principal and assistant principal are wonderful. I have found the teachers to be sincerely interested in the progress of my children. Schools in this area have 'gifted and talented' programs for reading and math and later, science and social studies, which provide more challenging learning opportunities. I have found additional educational resource teachers (OT) very helpful and supportive for my younger son. Parental involvement is very high - classroom volunteering and other activities, field trips, fundraisers, etc. One drawback is that because of the scheduling constraints, recess time is a bit short.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

My daughter is in kindergarten at TES and she loves it. Her teacher is very 'hands on', and has wonderful lessons. The general atmosphere in the school is very welcoming. My family always feels comfortable there. We consider ourselves lucky to be in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

This school is a very highly educated place for learning. I would storngly reccomend the children going here when they are ready to begin kindergarden. It is a wonderful expirience in every young childs life. I hope people will take my advice and go to Timonium for their childs elementary school career. Timonium...where the journey begins. :-)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 23, 2003

This is such a great school. They are a national blue ribbon winner. The staff are very friendly and the kids are so happy there. My daughter love going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Black 7% 35%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Eastridge Rd
Timonium, MD 21093
Phone: (410) 887-7661

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lutherville Laboratory
Lutherville, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT