Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Towson, MD
Students enrolled: 772

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Notre Dame Preparatory School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
This school provides a rigorous academic experience with warm and wonderful teachers who truly want the students to excel in a stress free environment. The technology here is top notch, as is the art program. There is a deeply spiritual, embracing,and loving atmosphere present. The girls are exposed to such an array of activities as part of a regular day, such as dance and swimming. Truly a fantastic school!

Notre Dame Preparatory School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
Our daughter is having a wonderful experience at NDP: it's for sure academically challenging (and this is one the reasons we sent her there), but the teachers are always available for extra help, if needed. About homework : for us it's just matter of organization and planning the activities. Blackboard is a great tool that has to be used daily. From the social point of view, our daughter has no issues. At NDP there is room for everybody, with many girls from several different backgrounds


Notre Dame Preparatory School 3

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
WAY too much homework. NDP needs a more progressive approach--look at current research on the effect of excessive homework on students. Students are spending hours upon hours on work after school. This time should be devoted to family, destressing, and outdoor activities. This creates an unhealthy mindset that contributes to higher rates of depression, anxiety, and obesity. It's time for a new approach.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 2

Posted July 20, 2013
- a parent
Notre Dame Preparatory school offers wonderful academic guidance. The problem is the student body is infested with a few bad behaving girls that are used to getting their way. They have learned to be manipulative, 'catty' and mean-spirited. Sadly, the administration does nothing to correct the behavior. If you and your daughter selects this school, be sure to have an attorney on retainer. The administration dos nothing about bullies and you will need to take other means to correct it.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a community member
Notre Dame Prep is, simply, an amazing school. I'm currently a junior, and I feel that I'm definitely being prepared for college through the rigorous coursework and the phasing system. I have to disagree with the parents that talk about the "mean girls" and the "controlling clique". I find the majority of the girls at NDP to be very accepting of others. It's true that everyone has her "group", but that's to be expected - after all, you can't be friends with everyone. But if you want to be a leader, NDP offers that option for anyone who steps up to the plate early. NDP has a beautiful and well-kept campus (except for the bathroom in the science wing...ick!). It has a certain, unique school spirit and many wonderful, long-held traditions (such as Gym Meet and Christmas Liturgy). Coming to NDP was one of the best decisions of my life, and I'm certain I'll never regret it.


Notre Dame Preparatory School 5

Posted April 14, 2009
- a student
NDP is an amazing school. I'm currently attending the upper level, and it is great. The phasing system allows you to be in a class with other people on the same learning level as you. The teachers are very nice and it is easy to go to them for any help you need. A lot of people talk about the cliques at NDP...I feel like there are groups of friends, but there is a group or 'clique' for everyone, and I think almost everyone is very polite and considerate to everyone else.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 4

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
I have to respectfully disagree with the posters who talk about controlling cliques, and lack of administrative action to deal with bad behavior. I have two daughters at the school, one in middle school and one in highschool. The middle schooler was subjected to some teasing due to a medical issue, and the administration intervened immediately after the child tried to resolve it herself and needed help, problem was solved, apology accepted, all kids happy. The highschooler has achieved offices in organizations and high spots on commitees and in no way is a member of a clique - is a non-conformist. Just a likeable, successful child. I am sure experiences can differ, and kids can be rotten in any school. Some classes could also be worse than others.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 3

Posted December 12, 2008
- a parent
Great academics but administration could be more involved and aware of the controlling ' clique' in this school who elect only each other to committees and offices. I would not recommend this school unless you plan to send your chld starting at 6th grade because it's diffcult to break into the social groups at the high school level.


Notre Dame Preparatory School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Iagree with the parent who postedJune 28,2007. NDP is a wonderful school with a lot of very mean spirited girls. The head mistriss and principal do nothing tostop it and the head mistress sister Patricia Ann McCarron will not even return parent phone calls.

Notre Dame Preparatory School 1

Posted August 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Notre Dame Preparatory School
815 Hampton Lane, Towson, MD  21286
(410) 825-6202
Last modified Notre Dame Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Notre Dame Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top