Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Immaculate Conception School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Towson

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $349,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2010

I too took my child out of ICS last year, very concerned with the way it was being run. Far too much teacher turn over and drama. This has not always been the case, I had two other chilldren that went there, as many catholic school, it has gone way down in the past couple years! Most other privates (and public) in the area have more servies, more resources and better programs, do your research!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I am very disappointed with the academics at ICS. The school is run by the parents who are wealthy Towson-types who know little of education. Admin is weak and does not support a strong academic program. Kids do well if they have educated parents. Towson folks would do better sending kids to the local schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

To clarify.... Parent of previous post was not referring to 5 or 6 years ago - it was a recent review of the school to let other parents be aware of why we made the switch from ICS to another private school with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

Enrollment has dropped significantly over the past years I sent my child there and feel that it is an unsatisfactory school - we have now moved onto another private school and wished we had made the switch earlier from Immaculate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

The only social interaction this school offers is cliques. No daily school spirit is allowed, only when it is dictated by the administration. There spirits are squelched! Enrollment has dropped significantly over the past years, At least 10 teachers leave each year or before the end of the school year. S was NOT rated the best in the archdiocese, It was rated Baltimore's Best Schools the 1980's, They have a discusting rodent problem. Gorified babysitting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

We love Immaculate Conception School and its administration. I have two children at ICS and one who just graduated and I graduated from ICS myself. My children are receiving an excellent education in a caring environment, where they are treated with respect and taught to treat others the same way. Just walking in the building, you feel the sense of community. I would recommend ICS to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I have been a parent of ICS for 14 years and have never been happier with the school. Although my older son experienced issues with bullying in the middle school (which unfortunately is a problem in most middle schools nationwide), the administration and middle school teachers have gone over and above my expections to address these issues. I currently have a child in the middle school who not only is excelling academically but socially as well. I have and will continue to recommend ICS to other parents who are interested in providing a structured and academically challenging education for their children with the benefit of providing strong christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

Immaculate Conception is one of the best Catholic schools in the Archdiocese. The acting principal has done a wonderful job in raising expectations for students as well as faculty. I had 2 sons who went through the school and would highly recommend it for preparation for any high school in the area.


Posted October 30, 2008

ICS is a loving and nurturing school that provides all of the essentials for a child to receive an outstanding education. The teachers are wonderful and delight in seeing the children learning and growing. I can't think of a finer place to have children enrolled from pre-K thru 8th grade.


Posted April 29, 2008

I have two sons in 1st Grade and pre-K and have been quite pleased with their progress. My 1st-grader is challenged and has excelled academically, physically, socially and especially morally. ICS has a well-structured environment that promotes discipline and intellectual growth. The campus infrastructure is modest and has room for improvement but this school reminds us that it is not the building that matters but the quality of what goes on in the building. My wife and I are both educated at the graduate level and feel confident that this school will help us bring our two sons through their own paces too as we attend to their own quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

Mostly good kids, but discipline is non-existant. It seems like the problem is school wide, and teachers don't have the tools they need to discipline students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2006

The teachers teach us a great cirreculeam,that does prepare us for high school.But there isn't alot of disipline.It is a fun place to be where you can feel welcome and like you are at home.But there are some problems.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2005

School is in kind of a down slide right now! Lower enrollment has made for some programs to be dropped! Teacher are nice and do a good job! Leadership at the school and the leadership from the church not working together very well! Not good about letting the parents know whats going on! I would give the school an over all grade of a c+
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Black 2% 35%
Hispanic 2% 12%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 Ware Avenue
Towson, MD 21204
Phone: (410) 427-4801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Loyola Blakefield
Baltimore, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT