Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
592 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 81 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Immaculate Conception School 4

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
We have three children at this school and we have felt our children have benefited the most from the religious foundation and positive behavioral system the school has in place for the students. We feel God is one of the most important parts in our children's lives and having that be a part of their moral foundation in their formidable years is even more important. They have had truly wonderful teachers who really care about their education and becoming the best they can be. Our children feel cared for and come home happy from school because they are in a positive learning environment. As a parent it is your responsibility to pick the best education for your child but also realize it is still your role to continue at home supporting the positive ideals you see your children getting in the school you chose for them. The more active role you take in your children's schooling the more benefit you get from knowing their teachers, to understanding the schools values, to becoming a true part of their entire learning experience. We are a mixed race family and have never felt anything but respect from the faculty and confidence in knowing we chose the right school for our children.

Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted January 30, 2016
- a parent
Worst experience ever. Huge relief upon leaving the school. While in the school my child often complained about feeling bullied by the staff. Moreover, I felt bullied by the staff, and I'm the parent! I went over the principal's head multiple times to complain about issues. My child is now in public school, and so happy. They offer more choice and flexibility, so they were able to tailor the schedule according to my child's interests. After my child started the public school, a teacher actually phoned me and gave me her cell phone number. She didn't want my child to fall behind in an assignment, and told me I could text her anytime during a long weekend with questions. Talk about dedication! This is what a parent likes to see. In my opinion, the time we spent at ICS was a complete WASTE of our time and money.


Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Our child has attended ICS since Pre-K. We can honestly say as parents, that this is the best decision we have made for our child. He is thriving, loves school, and has made wonderful friends. ICS is truly our extended "family." The teachers and staff have been outstanding. The education he is receiving is phenomenal, the results are palpable. Moreover, there is a wonderful balance of a nurturing environment which also encourages age-appropriate independence. As parents, we did not lightly make our decision as to where our son would attend school. We spent countless hours discussing our options, sleepless nights worrying if our decision was the correct one - and the best fit - for our son, and had tremendous anxiety the first few weeks of school. These feelings quickly diminished. Each and every time we drop our child off to school, there is no anxiety, no concern, no fear or reservation; rather, there is comfort knowing that we are leaving our child in the loving and capable hands of the educational and support staff that comprise ICS. How can we confidently say this? Because we witness the love, the support, the intelligence and integrity of ICS through our child. We witness the smile he has when he is dropped off to school and picked up each day. We hear the excitement in his voice when he discusses his day, his teachers, his classes and projects. We feel how proud he is of his school, his successes, his education. We are so very thankful that we are a part of the ICS community.

Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted December 03, 2015
- a community member
Horrible. My child was ridiculed for their race and nothing was done about it! Ridiculous. And they academics did not prepare my child for high school, at all! And all of these "5 star reviews" are posted on the same day and the next day after that. Corruption or what?! They are managing their own reviews because they even know how bad it is. What immature and disgusting behavior for a "blue ribbon school". I guess the blue ribbon standard has dropped to sewage!

Immaculate Conception School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a community member
Only will listen to parent's concerns if they are kiss ups to the administration. I have experience this first hand


Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The administration, led by the principal Mrs. Meaney, bullies children. The principal punishes children based on rumors, and doesn't bother to waste any time discovering the true facts. Children are punished for having long hair as much as for cheating and cursing.....very warped priorities!

Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
After reading these "five-star" reviews, we also agree they're suspicious. The bottom line is that the school has a very spotted history. Catholic discipline, you ask? Chronic behavior problems are let go for years. That means nice kids get hassled and mean kids go on being mean. Most of the problems start at the top, with the Principal (Ms. Meaney) being one of the largest problems. She betrays confidences and uses them against you. She openly gossips about parents and students she disapproves of. She treats many of her teachers with disrespect and openly scorns some of them. Overall, not a healthy environment for a child, we would recommend going elsewhere.

Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted August 17, 2014
- a community member
This school does not deserve a 4 star rating or 5 star rating! I am a former student now at a new school and this school did not prepare at all! The 5 star comments you see are made by the 36 moms and principal. The 37 of them 'stalk' survey our children 24/7 they are not let a private life. Steer clear from this school!


Immaculate Conception School 2

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
We had two children attend ICS, and for the most part they received a good education. They are doing extremely well in their high school career, but this is in no small part to the fact that they were smart, self-starters to begin with. Unfortunately, we must agree with reviewers that refer to cliques, and not just student cliques parental cliques are equally apparent here, and if you are not in , well then, you are not in ! We hate ourselves for saying this, but, we also must agree that attention is usually afforded to wealthier families. As parents we have endeavored to now send our children to a high school with a different value system private, catholic, but one that values all children! We went to great lengths to avoid schools towards which we were pretty certain ICS students would likely attend (and judging by reviews, it would seem that the problem followed the students). We were absolutely intrigued by the number of 5 star reviews that quite suddenly appeared on the ICS Great School review page, though, when we see that most (if not all) of them were submitted on or around the same date, we can only conclude that these great reviews are nothing less than contrived.

Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been in Immaculate Conception since Kindergarten. I have been nothing but impressed with the school curriculum, spirit, parents and faculty. My daughter will be finishing up next year to reach the 9 year club and is proud of attaining that level with Immaculate. I have also been involved with committees, sports and other extra events. I have and will continue to cherish those memories knowing my daughter got a great spiritual and academic education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immaculate Conception School
112 Ware Avenue, Towson, MD  21204
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 81 reviews. (410) 427-4801
Last modified Immaculate Conception School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top