Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riderwood Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2013

This school is amazing! My son transferred from a school in Phoenix, AZ to Riderwood Elementary in the middle of the school year. I can not begin to express my appreciation for such a caring staff and fellow students. His teacher especially. If we did not have to move back to Phoenix, he would still be there. He misses it very much and so do I. This school was defintely a breath of fresh air. Thank you Riderwood! We loved everything about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

I graduated from Riderwood in 2004 and have been back to visit a few times since then. I absolutely loved my time at Riderwood. The teachers and student were great, the program was excellent, the parents were, as far as I remember, very involved. I matriculated into an excellent private school in sixth grade and was placed in the advanced program, and even then the adjustment was smooth. Now I am a student at an Ivy League school. Of course I remember my experiences at Riderwood with the fondness and nostalgia that time brings, but I know that my later success definitely had something to do with the great experience I had at Riderwood.


Posted August 8, 2011

My son has only had one year at the school. His teacher was great. The education seems very strong, and the children seem very sweet and curious. Like any place, some teachers will be great, others less so. We've only had one, so hard to give a really good overview. If i could change one thing it would be the school not sending hone advertisements and promoting private clubs and local banks through the children. That seems like foul play in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

Assistant Principal needs some skills in kindness and understanding special needs children! I'm hoping this school will update their website and will look at technology for our kids future. They need to integrate an I lab into their curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

Principal and Asst.Principal need to take Classes for, What is Special Need Children and What is their Job to protect them and Teach them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

The teachers, special educators, administrators, staff...they are all top notch and really care about our students! I am a HUGE fan of this amazing school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

All I can say is when my children get off the bus each day, they have huge smiles on their faces...enough said!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

This is our first year at Riderwood Elementary and they warmly welcomed us. The teachers were eager to meet us and have made our children feel very comfortable with the transition!! I couldn't have asked for a better school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Riderwood has the best, most prepared and caring teachers in our county. They are always helping our children grow in so many ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Everyone at Riderwood is a hard worker, from the administration to the faculty and staff to the families to the all-important student. And, when everyone makes their best effort, absolutely wonderful learning takes place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love our school because we have a strong community connection. Everyone works together to build a strong foundation of learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

I just moved to the area and this is our first year at Riderwood, but I am already amazed at the enthusiasm of the staff, principal and parents. My children adjusted quickly and love attending each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The teachers have so much talent, spirit and energy. It is a safe, nurturing and caring environment that I am happy to send my children to every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Our school attracts caring and motivated professionals who go above and beyond their job descriptions in orer to create a positive learning environment for every child. The parents are the most dedicated volunteer corps one can imagine. We all work together as a community to ensure each child has the best educational experience possible. Quite simply, we rock.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I couldn't be happier with Riderwood because the teachers are absolutely wonderful! Everyone is willing to listen to parent suggestions and follow through with them to better the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

the faculty is tremendous and the kids are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Riderwood Elementary School has it all - dedicated teachers, great administration, involved parents and fabulous students! One indicator of how great the school is is how long many of the teachers have been there. Some are even teaching the children of former students! Also, parents move into the district just to go to the school. They must be doing something right!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

All around, Riderwood is fabulous. The community is close knit, the school is clean, and the student's scores and enthusiasm are top rate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

support staff and teachers are dedicated; children are blooming within a wonderful learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Not only have I been thrilled with the faculty, the parents are very involved which is a huge plus. Their is great communication and I feel my children are well cared for. It is so nice to live in a community with a great school. We have a great neighborhood which also makes our school a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Black 3% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1711 Landrake Rd
Towson, MD 21204
Phone: (410) 887-3568

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ridge Ruxton School
Baltimore, MD




Greenspring Montessori School
Lutherville-Timonium, MD


Lutherville Laboratory
Lutherville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT