Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kettering Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 327 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 12, 2012

Kettering has changed for the better I have been at kettering for 3 years and i am proud to say that it was the best years I have spent at any school.The teachers communicate with parents,students are engrossed in the curricullum.Its surely not as ghetto as people think it is. Principle Talbert is really doing a good job. I loved my time being there made really good friends and just loved the experience and they have hands on experience field trips at the end of curriculum.


Posted May 7, 2009

My child had his first and last year at Kettering Elementary for Pre School, after his first day at the new school for kindergarten, he responded it was great nobody pushed him or called him names. I believe there are students with behavioral problems at Kettering, that the administration and teachers cannot control, and unfortunately the parents don't concern themselves enough with their own kids to change that. I did appreciate the hard work from Mrs. Talbert, Ms. Backman, Mrs. Edelen, Mr. Steve, and others there very much. There are no bad seeds, only bad parenting. Kettering has so much potential, if it were not for those bad parents, who are bringing Kettering down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I agree with most responses. While we parents have worked hard with students so do the teachers at some degree. Unfortunately, the teaching my received was very uneven. I am still in the process of working with them to make sure my daughter and all kids prosper to there level. No school can afford to loose kids by going too fast and not meeting their needs. The teachers are friendly and I am impressed with the schools aftercare and extra circular activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I agree totally with your comments. I have had three children go thru Kettering. After Mrs. Marr left Kettering changed. My last child only completed third grade at Kettering. I removed my child last year. This school needs to be evaluated at a higher level. I have also tried to call Ms. Talbert with no results. My nephew went there, and I tryed to get him tested for Special Education. They would not test him, because he was A/B student. My comments to them were you are giving him those grades. He is not earning them. Now my nephew is in high school with a grade point average no higher than a 1.40.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

This is my child's first year (kindergarten) and hopefully the last at Kettering. I have identified a problem with a veteran teacher. If Kettering Elementary exceeds anyone's expectations, then those expectations were very low. I have never been in an environment that the teacher insults the kids in front of them on a daily basis. I have heard my child's teacher tell students that they are bad seeds, they are bad because they don't have a man in the house, telling parents that they need to beat the child (while standing in front of the child). The teacher has said things like 'don't bother (to help a student read) he'll never get it.' While walking up to my child's classroom one day, 10 ft away, and all I heard was a door slam and the teacher screaming at kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

This is my child s first and hopefully her last year attending Kettering Elementary School. Her Kindergarten class has gone without a teacher for 5 months. The Principal Ms. Talbert says that's she available and parents can come to her at any time with concerns. This is not the case, I have left several messages and received no return call. Everything with this school is very last min. They expect a great turn out at the PTA meetings, but they send the notice home the day of the meeting. No wonder why the parent involvement is so low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

Kettering Elementary school has the potential to become a great school. The current principal does an excellent job of leading effectively and she committed to the students. Some teachers do not understand the importance of 'teaching' students. My experience with ensuring my child's education has been less than favorable. I would like to see more teaching in the classrooms. This approach will greatly assist the school in reaching the above average educational goals the principal is currently seeking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

My child has attended Kettering Elementary since Kindergarden. This is a nice school overall. The parent involvement is very low, the academic program is great. I think the extracurricular activities are great to give the kids a small break. This school is a nice school for kids to be a part of, they just need to get more teachers in there who are in there for the love of teaching, and will help students to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

My Children have attended Kettering Elementary for the past ten years. I have closely watched the progress/transition from Mrs. Marr to the current principal, Ms. Talbert. Overall, the school has been very good. My first child was admitted to a TAG middle school after leaving Kettering Elementary. I believe, for the most part, the principal and teachers try very hard and do an excellent job preparing the students for the next level of learning. If I have any gripe, it would be that I questioned the ability/certification of a few teachers. When you approach the principal with your concerns (and there is a general concensus among serveral parents that these concerns are legitiment) she is sometimes not very receptive to change. But as I said before, overall, I feel the school is one of the best public elementary schools in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

Kettering has had its problems in the past but there has been a definite change. The principal has grown and she and are staff are presently dedicated to providing a superior education for our children. With continued strong leadership, teacher inservicing and dedication, the belief that every child can learn, and and needed volunteers, Kettering will become one of the best Elementary school in the county. In late April, I volunteered to plant flowers along the front of the building. Both Fifth and sixth graders, the building supervisor, his staff, and the secretary help to cultivate the soil and plant flowers. It was a wonderful experience and the evidence is still present.I agree with other writers that volunteers would be a great asset__not only to Kettering but any school.The children need us and if they are to succeed we must get involved. Commit some time to volunteer in 2004-2005, now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2004

Kettering Elementary has gone above and beyond my expectations of an excellent elementary school. Excellent leadership and hardworking teachers are the major contributing factors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

This school could be a great school. The lack of leadership from the principal and vision for the students prevents that. I am very disappointed with the processes to implement change. More parent involvement is needed to collectively bring this school up to the standards it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Kettering Elementary School (KES) has the potential to be one of the best in our area. But, the leadership lacks, too many junior teachers, and a desperate need for more parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 96% 35%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11000 Layton St
Upper Marlboro, MD 20774
Phone: (301) 808-5977

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Capitol Christian Academy
Upper Marlboro, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT