Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marlton Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2011

My son has attended this school since K. This is the BEST school. The focus on reading and math is fantastic. The after school program is educational and has homework time too as well as play time which is important. My son started out with a severe IEP in K and no longer needed it by 2nd grade. These teachers and Mrs Pica (principal) surround a kid and will not give up until the kid can fly on their own. the feedback between teachers and parents is A+ in form of agenda books, notes, email, nd open door policies. My son is now in 5th grade. This schools teaching methodology has been in place for years and it shows. He will definatley be going here in 6th grade!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

This school is great for kids to learn and grow. The atomsphere is amazing and even the most squimish kids can open up at Marlton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

I was going to send my son to a private school, but decided to give Marlton a try. I have been very impressed with Marlton, the principal, teachers and staff. They are very caring and responsive to our children and parents. The K program is great. They really make sure that the children strive for excellence. Keep up the good work!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

Marlton is an excellent school. Teachers are very accomodating and supportive. My son is in the third grade and I have seen how much he has learned in the two years he had been here. My friend also speaks highly about the school's special education program. Her son is a first grader in the special ed room, and we are amazed at how much he has improved. They also have an excellent after care and instrumental music program! Marlton is truly a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

My son has gone to this school for four years. Originally, we were going to send him to a private school but with experiencing Marlton it changed my mind. The teachers and staff are smart, caring and considerate of their pupils. They go that extra mile when any of the children needs extra help. I think any parent would see why Marlton is a fun safe and good environment for their child to learn in. The aftercare program and staff are equally as fantastik. The principal won an award as being a distinquished principal in Maryland and was written up in the post. She runs a fair, tight ship. Kudos to Marlton!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

Marlton is a wonderful school. I have a pre K and a 2nd grader. My 2nd grader was identified as TAG and was suppose to attend Longfields, but I said no way, she can stay right at Marlton. I love the fact that the administrators know my children and the principal stresses character education. I still see my oldest kindergartner teacher, whom provided a very positive atmosphere, and she a retiree! The pre k program in great, my daughter tells everything about Ms Soufiane, good things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

Marlton Elementary is the best hidden secret in PG County. The parental involvement and support is amazing and the teacher/administration is simply awesome. I have two children there now and both have adjusted well and my first grader began reading near the end of her kindergarten school year. I would recommend Marlton to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

This is the first year my daughter is attending Marlton but my wife and I love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Marlton really is a great school. I have 3 kids there (6th, 4th, & 1st), all have been there since Kdg. The teachers are very attentive, and responds immediately to parental inquries. You can visit and observe at any time. They have a band and orchestra, from the beginners level on. The after care program is great, staff really involved, not just standing on the sidelines watching the kids run around-they have a schedule. I hear a lot of horror stories from parents who pay tuition, and are not satisfied with the school. I feel fortunate that not only are we not paying tuition, but my children, are experiencing a great start in the world of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Marlton is a GREAT school! I have three children attending (5th, 2nd, 1st). They put a great emphasis on reading and math, and the county has implemented a new science program which gives the students hands on experiences. The principal and staff also work very hard on character education. My children are thriving - even my gifted ones, so I am perplexed at the low rating. The staff is friendly, competent, and welcome parental involvement. I volunteer regularly at the school, so I see first hand the extra effort and personal sacrifices (physical and financial) the staff gives willingly to provide the best educational opportunity for the children attending Marlton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

Marlton is a great school! My daughter started her education here last year in Kindergarten. She had not attended any pre-K classes. By the end of the school year, she was reading on a second grade level! I'm excited to see how much more the staff teaches the kids this year! The entire staff has my family's respect and admiration. This school is part of the reason I moved to this area. The school has a reputation for its success in keeping parents informed, which motivates us to remain involved in the school's activities. The reading, physical education, music, and science curriculums are especially good. I really love the school spirit! Thank you, Marlton staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

Marlton Elementary is an awesome school. My son is in kindergarten and my daughter is in the 6th grade. Before attending Marlton, my 6th graders grades declined and she was obtaining C's and d's on her report card. After attending Marlton, for the second grading period she has made all A's and two B's. I absolutely adore there teachers. Marlton is truley dedicated to the success of all its student body. Thank you Marlton staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 87% 35%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 12%
White 3% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8506 Old Colony Dr South
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 952-7780

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mattaponi Elementary School
Upper Marlboro, MD


Excellence Christian School
Upper Marlboro, MD


Clinton Christian School
Upper Marlboro, MD


Melwood Elementary School
Upper Marlboro, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT