Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
750 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 91 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverdale Baptist School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
Thanks for showing your true colors before my child went to Middle School you snake.

Riverdale Baptist School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
Just right (for failure) because the high school graduates that I have spoken to are not prepared for college.


Riverdale Baptist School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
NO!!!! Unless you consider developing low morale and the determination leave the school as soon as possible a virtue.

Riverdale Baptist School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
They do not care about the students at all. They only care about revenue. Eric Harrison said that out loud, in front of me.

Riverdale Baptist School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
Eric Harrison will lie to your face about everything regarding this school. They have too many under qualified teachers as well as leaders. Bullying is commonplace with the students and teachers.


Riverdale Baptist School 1

Posted June 30, 2016
- a parent
My son has attended Riverdale Baptist School for 5 years. The curriculum changes often and does not offer what one would expect from a "private" school. However, the elementary principal promotes Christian values. I will not allow my son to go into the middle school because of the MS principal. She lies and is very immature. The MS does not follow the mission statement that is promoted to the parents. My daughter attended the middle school and one year in high school before I had enough and put her in another school. My advice to anyone considering placing their child in Middle or High School is to save your money. The leadership is awful. They are not qualified to babysit in my opinion. My daughter had a teacher with no degree at all, homosexuality is commonplace in the upper grades, and excessive bullying from teachers as well as students. The school is basically a joke. The students are not even able to test into better private schools because academically the school is worse than any Title I public school.

Riverdale Baptist School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
I truly would want to thank all of them because without any of them I wouldn't be the strong yet still growing Christ follower I am today.

Riverdale Baptist School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
At times its hard to listen and obey. We wan too talk and play and such. When we get punished one teacher makes us write a long bible verse. Not only have i memorized that long verse by heart, but I also have something to share with other people or use when I'm afraid or need help and God.


Riverdale Baptist School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
Yes they do. They bleed blue and gold all around. In Thursday Chapel and Bible class they challenge us to get out of our comfort zones and be a warrior for God. In high school for spring break you can even go on a mission trip. They also do everything they can do to teach us, we just have to listen and ask if we don't understand.

Riverdale Baptist School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a student
they respect the students in a fair way but at times one person would do something terrible or dress inappropriately and get embarrassed or hurt by the comments that a teacher would put out. We as students get offended because they don't know how we are raised and what was ok to wear and do. So when a teacher is wrong they ask for forgiveness of the victim and the students that heard about it which is the thing I like.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverdale Baptist School
1133 Largo Rd, Upper Marlboro, MD  20774
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 91 reviews. (301) 249-7000
Last modified Riverdale Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top