Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Queen Anne School

Private | 6-12 | 220 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Upper Marlboro

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $240,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2011

I must say it is very short-sighted for the vestry to close the school. It is a gem in Prince George's County. The teachers and staff care so much about each student. My son has matured and excelled under their kind attention for over five years. The other schools anywhere near QAS do not compare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

This school is being closed by the vestry in June 2011. Personally I think it's about time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

My son is in the 12th grade and has been going to Queen Anne since 7th grade. It's been a great school for him. He's learned to be an independent thinker, he's been able to participate in many activities and try many new things. Teachers are very dedicated. Discipline is good. Students are polite and care about each other. I've been very pleased with this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

I started goining to Queen Anne School at the start of this year and i most say I am very pleased. The students and faculty give this school a warm and welcome feel. They make everyone feel welcome and make it impossiable to fail as long as the student cares the teachers care
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2009

I totally agree with the parent whose child entered QA in the 10th grade. Like this parent, my daughter too had entered QA in her sophomore year, and even though she didn't perform to the best of her abilities; I am very pleased with the teaching and nurturing she received while attending up until she graduated in 2006. She didn't get her first choice of universities, but like everything else, she applied the disciplines that QA instilled in her and was able to transfer in her sophomore year to her university of choice Hofstra University with an impressive GPA from her freshman year. I said this to say, Queen Anne School sells itself as a college preparatory school and students who moved onto higher learning demonstrate that caliber of learning; when they enter college they are fully prepared and are able to couple with the anxiety of transitioning from high school to college and many have done exceptionally well. My final thought is: you had to have been there to understand!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This school is not perfect-none are--but the teachers are dedicated, they care, it is obvious they are there to help students--small classes, lunchtime or before school help with work, a personal interest in your child, many adults caring about them-knowing their personality and their learning style----a beautiful campus, teaching children where they are whether it be way above average or getting by---writing that is at a college level--open mindedness-this is a great school--my child had other options public and private and still does-but will stay here---diverse kids and teachers. We have the Washington Post Teacher of the year for 2007 teaching here, we have people with degrees from Ivy league schools, small liberal colleges and Duke University, we have teachers with masters and law degrees----why would they choose to teach at a small private school-because they want to make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

My child attends QAS and I am a involved parent, QAS has the potential to be a good school, but the school is not run well. My daughter had a good year, the teachers are overwhelmed, most teach more than one subject, and seem very burned out. The administrators are much to be desired. 8 to 9 teachers and administrators have left this year (some being the best teachers, some not), I only hope that QAS doesn't hire more inexperienced teachers, which I'm sure the budget dictates. The enrollment is down a little over a 100 kids in the whole school, I believe the school needs to be revamped, a new administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

My husband and I both agree that the tuition we have paid Queen Anne School for the past four years for one of our children and two years for the other, is some of the best money we ve spent. This is truly a college preparatory school. My oldest child has had the opportunity to take several AP courses throughout her four years, three this year alone: AP Physics, AP Calculus, and AP Literature. She has made a decision to attend UVA in the fall. If you want your child to truly be prepared for the college of his or her choice, Queen Anne School is an excellent choice. Small class sizes, truly dedicated teachers you can t go wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

My child is graduating from Queen Anne after attending for 6 years. It's a very small school, and at one point, my child considered transferring to a larger school with more opportunities. However, after receiving two offers to transfer, she decided to stay at Queen Anne & now as she is about to graduate, she has no regrets. She based her decision on the help she was receiving in her growth as a student, and the opportunities she would have as she considered colleges. Queen Anne is a tiny school 280 students in six grades, with a very modest endowment. Yet its dedicated administrators & teachers help their students excel every year. College acceptances don't say everything about a school, but it's telling that at least one student receives an acceptance letter from an Ivy League college every year. Queen Anne administrators and teachers really care about their students and are
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

Queen Anne School is a great investment. When my child entered the program as a 10th grader she was very much challenge in every subject. She didn't do what was expected, but she did well considering her entering into the program in the 10th grade. The teachers at QAS so her potential and her desire to work extremely hard. The teachers at QAS care and they would do anything to assist your child in progressing in any weak areas as well as strong areas. I am extremely pleased with QAS because it has given my child the courage to continue to excel and to do better each quarter/semester. Individuals should seek their sources before putting out negative information regarding a school or any business for that matter. QAS is about your childs education and preparing and preparing them for the next level should it be college or the workforce.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

It's interesting to hear the opinions of disgruntled parents whose frustrations in the face of their own failures as a parent is displaced on a school. To write reviews like the ones above speaks volumes about the type of person behind them. I hope when considering an investment for your child's future would will look into the matter past a flippant email written by someone who knows nothing about being a parent only the 'inconvenient' responsibilities of having children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Queen Anne School was a big mistake! When your children attend the most expensive private school in the county, you expect a little more from a 'college prep' school. The 7th grade Math Teacher also teachers 6th grade English. The 7th grade Math students are struggling with the lessons. The 8th grade students are also having problems in math (perhaps because the same teacher teaches both Math and Science). The children in 6th grade were suppose to have a foreign language, but the school could not afford to hire a teacher. Although it is a private school, it is really a public school that cost more than its worth. I agree with other concerned parents that the NAIS should investigate how the school is being run. It really gives independent schools a bad name. Considering the upper school, don't!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

This school. is good. My son is in 10th grade and he says it is alright. he would rather go somewhere else for school but he says this is the one if you want to get into college(a good one at least(. the only problem is that the tuition skyrockets through the roof and it is unbelievable. this is around the same price of a college almost. And they are just minors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

My son is a graduating senior this year. He started at Queen Anne School in the 7th grade. He has had a very successful 6 years at the school. The Faculty and Staff is dedicated to meeting the needs of every child. The small class sizes especialy in the High School years and AP Classes (3 to 6 per class) made a significant impact on my son's performance. He is a great leader and very well rounded. The school offers all the academic challenges to prepare the students for a very competitive College Career and also the opportunity to play every team sport and find their niche. The parent community is very involved in the school. The School Board is very active and contributes significantly towards making the school a model for excellence. As a Parent and a Board Member I am very proud to be part of the QAS family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

I was a student at Queen Anne School a few years back. The knowledge and experiences that I gained were incredible! I would highly recommend QAS for any future prospective students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2005

As a parent of a QAS student, who has attended for four years now, I am very impressed with what this fine private, independent school has to offer. It provides a very challenging curriculum with small class sizes (8-20) and energetic, committed teachers. The school head has many years of private, independent school experience and works in an excellent manner with the Board and the Vestry, who have an input to the curriculum but do not interfere with day-to-day nor administrative aspects of the school. The faculty is comprised of a mix of young, talented and energetic teachers and older, experienced and extremely committed teachers. The administration and board advocate combining traditional educational values with modern technology and contemporary teaching methodologies. Arguably, QAS is the best private, independent 6-12 school in Prince George's county. We do need to work on getting more vigorous and active parental involvement. Strongly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

I am a student at Queen Anne. I would recommend my school for anyone who is willing to work hard and be involved. Basically every teacher knows my name. You definitely can't get away without doing your work. I have been going to Queen Anne for three years. My sibling has gone to Queen Anne for 6 years. We have a student center and writing center for students that is great. I really like that Queen Anne is making an effort to please the students and not just the parents and the board. My favorite thing is probably the relationships you learn to build and the college-like school experience that will prep me for the future. Overall, Queen Anne isn't for everybody, but as a self-proclaimed 'hard worker', I think that anyone can fit in here and do the work, you just have to want to do it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2004

I happened upon this site while looking for a summer camp at nearby school. I read the student reviews for the other school and then I decided to look at the reviews for my daughter's current school - Queen Anne. The difference in the student reviews is night and day. If my daughter graduates with solid skills and the confidence reflected in the student's review, then it was well worth the money. My biggest concern with the school is the lack of experienced teachers - many of them are very young. In addition, because of the limited amount of teachers, the students are not able to benefit from diverse teaching styles. If a student does not learn well from a particular teacher, there are no alternate teachers for that class. Also, the student may have that same teacher repeatedly throughout high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Great school. I dissagree slightly with the student who just graduated about extracurriculars. I am an alum and also a parent. I believe QA actually gives students who want to be involved a lot of choices and a lot of opportunity for activities. There are more chances for students to be in student government, clubs, sports, community service, because all activities are open to everyone without competition from a large student population. A student with minimal athletic talent can still participate in a sport. A student with leadership qualities can be involved in SGA, Lionshare, Nat'l Honor Society, class officers, etc. My experience with a public school is one with less opportunities because of size and competition and less attention from faculty. One counselor for 300 students in public school vs. an advisor with nine students to track through all their years and write an honest college reccommendation for their students is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Overall the school was a good place for my children, but I agree with the student who recently graduated, about the administration. There are lots of problems with that which need to be addressed if the school is to succeed into the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 88% 40%
White 10% 45%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 10%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:30
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • J. Temple Blackwood
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (301) 249-3838

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14111 Oak Grove Road
Upper Marlboro, MD 20774
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 249-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Riverdale Baptist School
Upper Marlboro, MD


Kingdom Christian Academy
Upper Marlboro, MD



Capitol Christian Academy
Upper Marlboro, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT