Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walkersville Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2013

My children attended Walkersville Middle School, and they had a great principal and really good teachers, and they received a good education. The only reason why I gave a 3 out of 5 stars is because of the rudeness of the lady at the front office who answered the phone. I was calling from out of state trying to get information, and she impatiently asked me if I was finished; while replying to her in mid-sentence, she hung up on me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

I can not say enough great things about this school. My daughter attended and now my son. I have never met a more caring, approachable aministrative staff. The teachers are wonderful. This year, my sons math teacher gave up an entire saturday to help tutor a large group of kids. Wonderful school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

My daughter is now in 8th grade. I have to say that 6th and 7th grades weren't the best for her. She had a mix of great teachers, and not so great teachers. Communication between teachers and parents could be much much better. Some of the staff could be a bit more friendly, especially to the students. Great Guidance office staff. Not so great in the problem solving department... when there are issues between students and other students... teachers could do a much better job of handling situations so they don't exacerbate into much larger problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My son attended this school while he was in the 7th grade and I pulled him out if the school in the middle of the year due to the amount of racism at walkersville middle school. Any parent looking for a school for their child to attend do not send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

Walkersville Middle rocks! I totally agree, the best teachers are Mr. Wetzel, and Mr. Haines!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2007

I love WMS! Sure, it's not the most attractive school on the outide but it is huge on the inside. The teachers are great- havent met one mean teacher yet. Mr Wetzel is my favorite and mr haines is cool too. There is no other school llike it
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2006

This school is awsome! we have a great sports rate and a strong connection with the upper and lowerclassmen. The teacher first off are great Mr Musser is the band corrdinator and has made jazz band and string annsamble available to us. Mr. wetzel and Mr. haines are two of my favorite 7th grade teachers because they really connect with us students. We have PTA, PTSA, SGA, and many extended activities that our families are encouraged to come to.This school is awesome trust me i'm a student!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2005

I think This school is awesome. it totally rox. theres no other school like it, and i should kno, i go there, and i woulndt want to go anywhere else. THe teachers are the best. Especially, Mr.Wetzel, Mrs.Hessen, Mr.nicodemus, and Mrs.Kosmack. Its an awesoome school, and im proud to be in it!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

261 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Black 12% 35%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55 Frederick St
Walkersville, MD 21793
Phone: (240) 236-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Banner School
Frederick, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT