Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cranberry Station Elementary School 1

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I have been dealing with CSE for 8 years now, and it started out great, but since the new administration has taken control, yes I said control, the school has gone downhill. Parents are excluded every chance they get, stopped monthly newsletter, do not communicate new policies or changes in policies, students not allowed to have fun. 1/6 or lunch spent with heads on the table, no touching at recess, no fun days or spirit weeks. Kids are treated and expected to act like soldiers. Sad! Office staff is not friendly at all. This is not a welcoming or warm environment at all.

Cranberry Station Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
The teachers that are left from the Walker era are wonderful, they are caring, compassionate and they try so hard to incorporate fun into the classroom!


Cranberry Station Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
The administration is not empathetic, or compassionate towards the students, so they do not have role models!

Cranberry Station Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
The principal targets children that they do not like. Bullying issues are not resolved, and ignored!

Cranberry Station Elementary School 1

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
Does not want true parent involvement. Only friends of the teachers allowed to volunteer. Has a visitation policy to block parents. Has a cafeteria policy that requires parents to sit separately. Will tell you they don't need volunteers anytime you try to volunteer. Parent involvement to this group means sign the agenda and stay away. Current administration is very pro-union teacher and very parent unfriendly. The teachers are always right. The parents are always wrong. If children get hurt in the process it does not matter.


Cranberry Station Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at CSE, one in 2nd year, now 2nd grade, and the other just started in Pre-K. It has been a while since these posts about CSE having a special needs focus. I see a wonderful, exciting school where all of the students are engaged in the learning experience, and there are regular activities where parents can volunteer or visit. We have movie night which is a great time. Teachers evaluate students' abilities, communicate ideas/suggestions with parents and our kids are led to perform at their best. The staff is proactive where misbehaving and bullying does show up, and they work with the parents and children together to get back on track. My kids love Cranberry Station!

Cranberry Station Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
Caters to special ed students. Does not work well with regular ed students. Administration is inflexible and treats school like a military establishment instead of a school.

Cranberry Station Elementary School 5

Posted February 05, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in 4th grade now at Cranberry Station. She has been there since kindergarten and I think it is the best thing that has ever happened to her. I believe my daughter has some form of ADHD but was never officially told that she did by a Dr.she has excelled at Cranberry. They have a full staff that reviews her progress for OT and speech for as long as she needs it- this is a great relief since I was paying to get her help with speech. She has had two or three incidents where bullies were verblally bothering her, and I told the teacher and it was dealt with right away. Every teacher is concerned for the children. Every teacher is good. I am very picky and protective of her and I have been very happy with Cranberry.


Cranberry Station Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2005
- a parent
I have 3 children with uniquely different learning capabilities. My oldest is brilliant but has ODD. Mrs. Walker, the pricipal went out of her way to help my son achieve, he graduated this past May '05. My 2nd had an extremely strong teacher for 1st & 2nd grade and made it into EEEP for both Math and ILA. To our great fortune my 3rd child who has had difficulty talking and comprehending since age 3, got the same awesome teacher for 2nd grade. The teacher gave him so much extra attention to catch him up on his reading level that he has become very confident and is reading like crazy. This summer this 7 year old is ready Hardy Boys! Needless to say I'm a grateful parent to have had such a great school for my children.

Cranberry Station Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2004
- a parent
I am overall happy with the school. The principal is great. She takes the childrens age and level of understanding into account before handing down a punishment. She doesn't react to situations (such as zero tolerance) until she has all of the facts and discusses it with the child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cranberry Station Elementary School
505n Center St, Westminster, MD  21157
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (410) 386-4440
Last modified Cranberry Station Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top