Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-1
Private
Woodbine, MD
Students enrolled: 46

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenwood Country Day School 2

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
My child attended GCDS for two years about five years ago. He was lucky to have a couple of very caring teachers for his preschool year and kindergarten year. That being said, the owner and administrator of this school is really hard on her employees and I don't mean that in a good way. This school cannot hold on to its teachers because of this one individual. There is something seriously wrong with the way she handles her staff and causes astounding stress and turnover. For this reason, it is hard to recommend the school.

Glenwood Country Day School 5

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
Whoever wrote the review below does not know what they are talking about. My child has gone to this school for over a year and has never been taken on a field trip without my consent! The environment is designed to ensure academic and emotional growth, and my child has never been happier. As for scaring kids about going to other schools, that's just ridiculous.


Glenwood Country Day School 1

Posted November 02, 2011
- a community member
the owner tries to scare children out of going to other local schools. She also is known for taking children on field trips without the parents consent. If you want a school where your child can mentally and emotionally prosper this is NOT the school for you.

Glenwood Country Day School 5

Posted October 02, 2011
- a parent
We are so happy to find this school. This is my child's first time in school. He has adjusted so quickly and now doesn't want to leave at the end of the day! Thank you for being so warm and helpful in making this fun for us all.

Glenwood Country Day School 5

Posted October 02, 2011
- a parent
My son has made great strides in just one month. We are so lucky to have you.


Glenwood Country Day School 1

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
Glenwood Country Day School - specifically the preschool - had wonderful teachers for the academic year '10-11, but yet again has been unable to retain teachers more than one year (and late hiring in the summer for '11-12 makes one wonder about the upcoming school year). They blame it on 'standard teacher turnover', but in fact the administration is atrocious, teachers have many complaints, there is very poor leadership by the head of school and preschool Director (which is evident on many levels), and there are many other concerns. While the mission is commendable, there are many inconsistencies in delivering. Buyer beware.

Glenwood Country Day School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
Good choice for children who have learning differences. Mine are socially awkward, but are not "behavior problems." I did not need a school for behavior problems, just for innattentive behavior. My children are closing academic gaps right in front of my eyes. They offer research based instruction such as TouchMath, Orton-Gillingham, Wilson, Kurzweil. They offer OT and SLP for additional cost, and the services are superior. I highly recommend it.

Glenwood Country Day School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I have been sending my children here to "camp" each summer for the past couple summers and have been so impressed with the teachers, facilities, location and program that I have moved my children to the program full time durning the school year and we couldn't be happier!


Glenwood Country Day School 4

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
My child has achieved many goals and jumped many hurdles since being at this school. Confidence building and small classroom sizes have been key, along with the curriculum that goes at my child's pace - not the teacher's!

Glenwood Country Day School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2008
- a parent
I love GCDS and so does my son. The teachers and education surpasses my expectations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenwood Country Day School
14785 Bushy Park Road, Woodbine, MD  21797
(410) 489-5203
Last modified Glenwood Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-1
Glenwood Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top