Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Amesbury, MA
Students enrolled: 609
 

2 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Amesbury High School 1

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
Amesbury school system is consistently one of the worst in Massachusetts. What baffles me is why we have the highest property tax rates in the states and the worst school system. Shouldn't our tax dollars be spent on our childrens education rather than an overly staffed and unnecessary police force? Rather than sending our children to private schools we moved out of Amesbury to a much better district. The public has been waiting 20+years for an improvement in the school system but it has never come.

Amesbury High School 1

Posted September 19, 2011
- a student
I would never put any child that wants a normal high school experience at amesbury if the administration doesn't like you they are out to get you. I would suggest going to the town next over newburyport because it has better academics and a much stronger athletic program.


Amesbury High School 1

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Amesbury High School 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2009
- a student
I love amesbury high school because it has the best teachers! I learned so much from each and every one of the teachers I have had (I graduated in 2009) but I really miss high school! The teachers I had senior year not only taught me how to do math problems, how to write essays, and laws, but they taught me about life. I learned that no matter what situation I am in, even if I am unhappy, I need to make the best of it and try my best in order to make the most of the situation.

Amesbury High School 1

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
Poor quality instruction, unhappy teachers I transfered my child to Newburyport in her sophomore year. She actually learns things there.


Amesbury High School 4

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
Most of the teachers at this school are dedicated,interesting professionals who strive to deliver a quality education.The principal is too lenient though on smoking in the bathrooms, petty theft,etc.

Amesbury High School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
The staff aren't particularly knowledgeable and are uninspired. There are also significant disciplinary problems.

Amesbury High School 5

Posted July 16, 2004
- a parent
I found the staff and the Principal very approachable. The Principal has brought many new programs to the high school and put more emphasis on academics


Amesbury High School 4

Posted March 09, 2004
- a parent
The Principal is never involved with anything that had to do with the school he is always in his office never getting in with the student to see what they need.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amesbury High School
5 Highland Street, Amesbury, MA  01913
(978) 388-4800
Last modified Amesbury High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Amesbury High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top