Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Ungraded|Private
110 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Melmark New England
Grateful to: Parent

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Thanks to the parents and former staff that have shared their experiences of Melmark. I thought it was an anomaly that my child developed so many concerning problems. Knowing that this is not unusual is strangely comforting.

Melmark New England
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Based on results, the teachers are ineffective. The Melmark designated "expert" in augmentative technology admitted incompetence, demonstrated an inferior understanding of the technology to me. The IEP reports claim progress, but careful reading shows, "re-calibration", meaning that they lower the bar to show progress. A careful analysis shows little or no progress over a decade of services. In the case of my son, he would have done better to live in a field by himself. He would have self case skills and avoided all of the many unfortunate lessons Melmark as provided; touching women's breasts, public masturbation, public nudity, shredding clothes, biting, those stereotypical vocalizations and behaviors.


Melmark New England
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
I have never seen any sort of homework or assignments come from Melmark. There is no evidence that there is more than dog training done in the class rooms and most often the children are "kept" with some mindless activity, like watching TV.

Melmark New England
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
From what I and others have seen, this is a dumbing program that prepares children for a life in an institution. They infantilize students and make wild claims about how they can walk in the woods, as though that is an accomplishment. There is no physical education program, no real support for the students to apply themselves to anything but complacent sloth.

Melmark New England
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
I have never seen respect from any student for the staff. Compliance, yes that is common. But respect, no. The executive director, Rita Gardner, tells stories of how children hit and spit on her.


Melmark New England
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
I didn't say very effective, I wish I could, but there is a turnover and then the student has to develop a new relationship. If there was not a turnover, then definitely would say very effective, because the teachers that my child has long relationships with are more effective. Although, the turnover is not bad if you were to compare other schools, something to keep in mind.

Melmark New England
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
My child is only 8 years old & he has never had homework, possibly he is too young. Future will see & report to you again.

Melmark New England 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
Melmark has been a blessing to our family, I have peace of mind and no longer worry how my sons day is going as I previously had to when he was in special ed through the public school system. I carefully chose this school after comparing other private schools & would highly recommend Melmark New England if your child is having difficulty in the public school special ed program. It is an entirely different environment and the top notch staff learned about my sons difficult behavior very quickly allowing him to adapt to a new school very comfortably. Again, peace of mind!!


Melmark New England 1

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
This organization is corrupt. They are political, hysterical and lie. They persist in unethical behaviors: filing false reports, engaging in EX-PARTE communications with the court and disobeying the orders of the court and policies of the Department of Education. I have observed children in their care mistreated: dragging children by the wrist is an inexcusable practice, ascribing "a good day" to a child that is bleeding is surreal. Allowing a child child to engage in self injurious behavior for an extended period of time should be criminal. Insisting that bite marks, abrasions, lacerations and contusions are "normal" and should not be documented, should be felonious. To ascribe the term "happy" to all of this is insane. This and much more are all standard at Melmark, for cares those that are non-verbal and can not speak for themselves. I have heard from former staff and parents that these sorts of abuses are common at Melmark. Melmark is unable to read or obey a court order, but instantly can produce lawyers who seek orders or protection. There may be a lot of good people at Melmark, but their much touted ABA is largely nonsense and the administration is clearly corrupt.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Melmark New England
461 River Road, Andover, MA  01810
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (978) 654-4312
Last modified Melmark New England is a Private school
Top