Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Andover High School 5

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
My son is a freshman and has had the nicest experiences with kids , teachers and guidance counselors. We just moved this past summer from Bergen county, New Jersey to andover and was a little nervous about the large size of high school but it has benefitted my son by having sports and clubs to choose from.... Every kind of club is offered and I felt like the teachers guided him into the activities they felt he should try and he may not have tried on his own without their guidance! It's a large high school with small town feeling and the kids truly are kind and accepting! Oh and I love the passion the student body has for their school, EVERYONE dresses in andover spirit wear and I really didn't see this kind of pride in any other states we lived in (Ca, Az, Nj) love it!!!

Andover High School 3

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Andover High School is on a steady decline over the past 6 years. Four different principals, three different athletic directors and class sizes approaching 30 kids in some cases. The facilities are dated and are not adequate to house the almost 2,000 students. Girls sports and coaches are excellent and rank as one of the tops in the state, The boys sports are weak at best. Poor coaching and lack of leadership from AD and Principal all ow coaches to run wild. No role models or mentors on coaching staffs.


Andover High School 4

Posted March 03, 2013
- a student
Andover High School is pretty good. The teachers are alright, but they generally expect you to learn most of the material through homework and on your own, instead of through them teaching you. It is possible to succeed at Andover High, although it isn't common. You need a ton of self motivation, and if you aren't succeeding, no one is going to try and help. It is incredibly easy to take the classes that require the least work, do zero extracurricular activities, and have no responsibility. Andover High does have a lot of clubs and sports, and some good classes, but you need to find them completely by yourself, since there aren't any adults that will help you. The guidance counselors act like it is a hassle to help you with college, planning your courses, and anything else that is their job. Overall, kids are sometimes nice and sometimes not. Usually, they won't go out of their way to be mean, and it is pretty easy to make friends. The new principal is really annoying and he has shut down every dance this year. He tries to be kids' friends, and that is even more annoying.

Andover High School 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
Super school. Excellent teachers. Challenging environment. Great facilities. Perfect for academic excellence as well as extra curricular activities.

Andover High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, dynamic principal, creativity in the face of budget cuts.


Andover High School
no rating

Posted July 20, 2009
- a parent
W recently moived into Andover because of the academic reputation associated, I do like the schools but am not very impressed with the guidance dept. at the high school. My son will be a senior looking to attend college and has not been offered much assist in searching for the right colleges. We do pay more taxes than most communities in our area and would expect just a little more in that area.Otherwise, we are happy with the middle school(Doherty)and the highschool.I consider Andover on a par with Wellsley, Weston, Concord Carlisle, Dover, other affluent towns.etc Having Phillips nearby is a blessing, it assures that the high standards will be kept at the highschool for fear of losing top students annually.

Andover High School
no rating

Posted May 10, 2009
- a student
Andover High School is a fantastic school for motivated students. It doesn't focus many resources on holding the hands of wayward students and getting apathetic students involved. However, those who want to can take advantage of incredible potential in teacher relationships and extra curricular activities. Peter Anderson has done an great job building an environment in which students are trusted with a lot of responsibility and a lot of freedom and expected to take advantage of it without breaking the trust that he's invested in them, and so far its worked. In terms of teachers, the social studies department is by far the strongest, with math probably weaker. People make a lot of fuss about the black scheduling, but its not a big deal, and as a college student I can say it made the transition very easy. Fred Hopkins is hands down the best teacher at the school.

Andover High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
The school is great, the people, the sports, etc. The only bad thing is the teachers. They don't really teach you anything and expects you to master the material.


Andover High School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a student
I graduated from Andover High and I believe that the block scheduling is the best way to go about how a high school should be run. I am well prepared for dreaded 1 1/2 hour classes and I am already into the habit of having classes for a semester instead of a year. A high school is supposed to prepare students for college, and Andover High did do that.

Andover High School 5

Posted September 26, 2008
- a student
I love this school. The clubs they offer are great and the teachers are very friendly and ready to help. I just regret that the scheduling is like it is. For example, i won't have math, English, or environmental science until next semester. Overall, it's a great school though.

Nearby schools

Andover High School
80 Shawsheen Road, Andover, MA  01810
(978) 623-8632
Last modified Andover High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top