Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Doherty Middle School 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a community member
As a former student, I must say that the reviews here are not representative of my experience. The guidance counselors were not only unhelpful, they worsened my anxiety and depression. Teacher quality varied dramatically and many refused to comply with IEPs. The academic programs were 75% MCAS preparation and 25% busywork. The students were uninterested learning and their bullying was allowed to go unchecked. The administration changed frequently and had no organization. I would not recommend Doherty Middle School, or any Andover school to that matter, to anyone. It does not deserve its reputation.

Doherty Middle School 5

Posted April 30, 2011
- a community member
Doherty Middle School is a wonderful school in Andover, one of the best in town. The teachers are commited to all of the students needs as long as the students are willing to try. There is very little to no bullying that goes on in the school, and most students are kind. The teachers provide students with a high level of knoweledge and the students learn well this way. They always perform extreamly well on tests (especially MCAS) and are very prepared for High School. If you're looking for a school in Andover, send your child here.


Doherty Middle School 2

Posted February 21, 2010
- a parent
This school works fine for 80% of cookie cutter kids. The teachers do not have the time to cope with the number of 504 accommodations and IEP's that support individual differences in learning. I have withdrawn my child from this school.

Doherty Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
This is an outstanding school for language arts but because of its large size and substandard office staff and assistant principal, falls short on individual attention, thus the tendency for some students to fall through the cracks. This school, more than the others in town, tends to cater to politics and 'townie-ism.'

Doherty Middle School 1

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Doherty Middle School 3

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
Don't believe the hype!!! yea, the students score high on tests, but there are no advance classes in place for high academic achievers.

Doherty Middle School 5

Posted September 04, 2009
- a student
This school is awesome!! I am in 6th grade here right now!! GO DOHERTY!!!

Doherty Middle School 0
no rating

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
Mixed review - daughter is self-motivated and was well prepared for high school; son did the minimum to get by, left unprepared and did not earn the high marks the school gave him. They need to hold the students accountable through grading. Teachers were bright, helpful but handcuffed by weak administration.


Doherty Middle School 1

Posted April 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Doherty Middle School 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a student
I love being a student at Doherty. The teachers are great and everyone is so kind.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Doherty Middle School
50 Bartlet St, Andover, MA  01810
(978) 623-8750
Last modified Doherty Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Doherty Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.