Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Thompson Elementary School 3

Posted July 09, 2016
- a community member
Students have different capacities to learn subject matters. All students are taught in similar ways. School doesn't encourage to teach/learn challenging stuffs to smarter kids.

Thompson Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
Thompson is amazing! Ms. Donato does a wonderful job as a principle, kids and parents are just love her. Teachers are supportive, and the whole atmosphere at school is very welcoming.


Thompson Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school with highly committed teachers. We love the diversity, and the more realistic environment this school provides for our children.

Thompson Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
Thompson is a gem. Except that it is going to be rebuilt over the next few years, it has everything going for it: principal, parents, teachers, community, diversity. We love our school.

Thompson Elementary School 4

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
We loved this school. the teachers were great and the parents are very involved. The diversity is unparalled. Soon, they will will be giving it a major facelift which is important but not really the most important thing in my mind. My daughter got a good academic start.


Thompson Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2005
- a parent
I went here as well as my daughter and soon new child. It's still the great community it was when I was young. Parents and teachers are very involved. The extra activites are fantastic!

Thompson Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2004
- a parent
Volvo or not This Principal is amazing! We moved within Arlington with 2 kids in Thompson to another school district - and hurried back to Thompson after experiencing unexceptable behavior by the principal of one of the newly updated schools in the 'better' neighborhood. Arlington allows school choice and it is worth the short commute to drop off. There are essentially no busses - all neighborhood schools which really builds community. The diversity is unparralled. And this principal goes out of his way to honor every important event in the town relating to cultures represented in his school. Which is the reason they play down the major Christain or American holidays. Why make people feel like they are 'different'? They have made a big sacrifice to leave their families to relocate here. I for one applaude this tradition. Thompson School Rules in Arlington.

Thompson Elementary School 3

Posted March 06, 2004
- a parent
Thompson school needs major updating in appearance inside and out. It's ironic to observe when the principal drives a brand spanking new Volvo and parks it right in front of a very old and decrepit school. Other than that, the principal is very involved with the school. The parent involvement is unbelievably high and the school encourages it. There are a few things other things that I am guessing is a result of public education that I have problems with: timed (with a cooking timer) parent/teacher meetings -it made me feel rushed and unrelaxed; not getting into the hoidays wether it be christmas, hannukah or halloween; the ease of putting a child in 'special program' because the teacher doesn't want to spend extra time with a particular student - I'm guessing this is a result of high student to teacher ratio.

Nearby schools

Thompson Elementary School
187 Everett Street, Arlington, MA  02474
(781) 316-3769
Last modified Thompson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top