Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-9
Private
Arlington, MA
Students enrolled: 68

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
This is the best school ever! My son attended and it gave him such a great foundation and love for learning. It gave our family an amazing sense of community and great life-long friends. He still goes back to visit his favorite teachers.

Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
Great Early Childhood Program! This is our first year at Lesley Ellis and couldn't be more happy. Our daughter is in Pre-K this year and she's learning so much. We were in another program last year and the quality of education is so much higher than her previous school in Brookline. She does the afterschool program and because of that so many teachers know my daughter so well. Its nice that care is offered until 5:30 and we look forward to when she's in the Elementary Program, as she'll then be able to do Ski Club, Rock Climbing and so many other fun activities in afterschool. Not only does our daughter enjoy her experience, my husband and I feel part of the school community. We've been able to get involved on many levels and have met so many other families - so we're really not missing out on the "neighborhood school" experience. All around - this is a great school and we're thrilled to be part of the community!


Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
Our family loves Lesley Ellis. We have two kids who go to the school, one in Elementary and one in Early Childhood. We love the caring teachers who not only know their stuff but also know kids as individuals. In the Early Childhood program, the teachers grow the curriculum out of the interests of the children; they make sure kids are getting all of the important skills they need but are very creative in how they get there.And the young kids get to benefit from being in a school with older children. They get weekly Spanish classes with a native speaker, time in the library, music, and movement! In Elementary, the multi-age classrooms (Grades 1&2, 3&4, 5&6, and soon 7&8) give the kids a chance to learn from others, and then in alternating years, practice being leaders. There are lots of chances for students to interact with each other- my little one waves excitedly to his older "buddy" when we see him on the playground after school. Because classrooms are team taught, kids get a chance to learn from and connect with a variety of adults. All school assemblies led by the older kids, the great anti-bias curriculum, and teachers' focus on the whole child are a few favorite parts of LES

Lesley Ellis School 3

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
We sent our child here for two years in the early childhood education program and it was a $40K mistake. The emphasis on high quality early education seems to be getting worse as the school expands. While the enrollment in the school is highest for preK and lowest (i.e., less than 10 students) in grades 5 and 6, the efforts of the administration are seemingly reversed. The effect of this seems to be very high turnover in the early childhood classroom and directors. Lesley Ellis is definitely not the place to send your young child if you are from a family with two working parents. A preschooler who is there for the whole day could experience 4 different classrooms and teachers combinations in a single day (early dropoff, assigned room, merged room, and afterschool). The teachers from 8:30 to 3:15 will be the same each day, otherwise they change everyday. The quality of early education afterschool program leaves much to be desired - many days there is an education student looking at the phone. There are a lot of half days and extra holidays, all of which require extra money and forms and, again, of which the quality of the program and teachers, highly varies.

Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted November 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been going to Lesley Ellis for 3 years now, & I feel so lucky to have found this place. Every teacher is extremely talented so you never have to worry about which classroom your child is assigned to each year. They are wonderful at engaging each child and quickly figuring out your child s strengths & how to best teach them. This is not only from the small class sizes, but the multi-disciplinary, project-based learning that goes on at LES. For example, my 3rd grader learns about what life was like for Native American children in Social Studies & then is creating a doll from a corn husk as an Art project. Or they will learn how settlers imposed laws on Native Americans unlawfully & without warning. Later in the week, teachers are imposing new rules on the children when the class plays Uno together. Then of course the class discusses how they felt and how the Native Americans may have felt too. This example also touches on the strong anti-bias program that is a cornerstone of the school s curriculum. The school and parent community are truly partners working together to create thoughtful, caring, & responsible children. So glad LES has expanded through middle school!


Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter is a third grader at Lesley Ellis School & has been there since Kindergarten. Here is a summary of what we most like about LES: The great teacher/student ratio enables them to teach in even smaller groups at different skill levels. The teachers are truly dedicated to their work in a way that makes it a fun, creative and very involved experience for kids. The school invests in technology without forgetting how important it is for the kids to do things hands-on, the old way,as well. The way the teachers work as a team and integrate their class time for a common goal. The parent community:Open and caring,which creates a fast feeling of belonging for the new kids as well as their parents. The head of the school listens to parent feedback, takes actions accordingly. The fact that the school will be adding 7th grade (2014) and 8th grade (2015) gives us peace of mind. I think above all, what we appreciate the most about LES is how our daughter is growing up to be a kind, respectful individual with curiosity and love for learning as well as an awareness and appreciation for different cultures and backgrounds while having fun and laughter in Lesley Ellis School environment.

Lesley Ellis School 3

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
Okay school. Lousy grounds and so so building. The pre k teachers are really inspiring, at least two I know of, and every penny was well spent. The pre school teachers....well, not so good. Funny that that is the weakest group given that most parents seek preschool from Lesley Ellis. First grade and second grade teachers are strong. The administration Is okay. We hung in there at LE for three years but really in hindsight would have been fine at a local preschool at half the cost. That said the pre-k was quite good.

Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Lesley Ellis since preschool and, in June, completed her fifth grade year, graduating with four other students. We could not have imagined a better combined preschool and elementary experience for her ... the small classes, terrificteachers and the care and attention paid to her spirit have provided a wonderful foundation. She always reveled in the fact that 'everyone knew her' as she walked the halls of 'her school'. We wondered how she would adapt moving into a very large public middle school ... it has been great. The foundation was laid at Lesley Ellis - she is now building on that foundation with new friendships, excitement over bigger classes and a strong sense of self as she moves within this new and complex social world.

Lesley Ellis School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
My son is in his 6th year at Lesley Ellis. At first we thought it was just a great pre-school for him, and then we realized the value of the education he was receiving. He has become a socially well-adjusted, kind and well rounded student due to the education he has been given. He is so fortunate. So too will your child if you send them to this incredible school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lesley Ellis School
41 Foster Street, Arlington, MA  02474
(781) 641-1346
Last modified Lesley Ellis School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Lesley Ellis School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top