Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
120 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Covenant School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Parental involvement is highly encouraged. It is affordable and the school community is of humble and modest means.

New Covenant School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
There is a strong emphasis on interpersonal relationships. The teachers also gather to pray for each student. This is a bully free school.


New Covenant School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Covenant School has six words and focuses on one word a month: Integrity, Courage, Teachability, Humility, Seeker of God, Respect. These meaning of these words are emphasized with examples in the morning chapel stories.

New Covenant School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a teacher
It is amazing how the different aged children at this school all help each other at lunchtime and at recess. The older kids (grades 4 & 5) take the younger kids "under their wings" and frequently go to their class to be reading buddies. They all respect each other and learn from each other. It is a pleasure to work here. We have small classes which allow the students to have wonderful relationships with the teachers and with their classmates.

New Covenant School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I have a daughter in first grade and one in preschool, both at New Covenant School. This is an AMAZING Christian school a hidden gem in the Boston area. My first grader is learning how to be an "author" (not just writing assignments), and at home is writing poems and publishing her own stories (well, just typing them out, but she is so excited about it!). My first grader started preschool shy, reserved, and quiet. You would never know it now! Through the individual attention, encouragement, and challenging academics she has grown in self-confidence, academic skills and -- most important to me -- depth of character (they emphasize character development throughout everything they do, not just outward "good behavior" but inward "attitude of the heart"). This is a unique Christian school.


New Covenant School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
New Covenant is an incredibly supportive, Christian environment. It's so refreshing to have consistency in what we teach at home and what is learned at school!

New Covenant School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a parent
I am amazed! My daughter is a 4th grader at New Covenant School in Arlington, Massachusetts and has been going there since kindergarten. The Christian / Expeditionary Learning framework allows such deep connection to the subject matter, to the process and final products, to the community, to the others students, and to the faculty. My daughter is joyful, confident, and grounded in both her life and learning and I attribute that so heavily to New Covenant. World class faculty; great visual, performing, and dramatic arts programs; deep spiritual formation and character development, all in a small, nurturing environment -- all at New Covenant.

New Covenant School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a student
it was a great school great teachers and they really care about the students even though i got in trouble a lot that was my fault but they did handle it very nicely and made me feel like i had a lot of freedom


New Covenant School 5

Posted January 08, 2005
- a parent
My son started Kindergarten this year. I was impressed by the program but I admit I was waiting for the 'other shoe to drop' once we got in. I figured a small school like this would have some fighting or cliques. No way. I continue to be amazed at the dedication and love that I find here. My son, who is reserved, has really blossomed. The classes mix a lot and he loves the attention of 'the big boys'. My concern was that older kids would introduce worldly concepts to my innocent 5 year old before his time, but the older kids are also sweet and set a good example for the little ones. I like that they keep to reading, writing, and arithmetic. They allow the parents to set the political agenda at home (right or left leaning)and they don't usurp that. Heavy parental involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Covenant School
9 Westminster Ave, Arlington, MA  02474
(781) 643-5511
Last modified New Covenant School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
New Covenant School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top