Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ayer Shirley Regional High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2013

Page Hill Top Elementary and Ayer Shirley Middle and High schools have been a great for my children so far. As an educator myself in a very competitive school system (top 5 in the state), I look well beyond test scores to evaluate the experience for my family. Ayer is rich in diversity, both economically and culturally, which brings the real world closer to my kids. Since regionalization, the academics have been more challenging for those who need challenge and for those who need more support, that has been improved as well. The HS building left much to be desired but is already part way through a major renovation and addition, which will improve course and extra curricular offerings as well as the delivery of instruction even more. Very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

I attend Ayer High School , have since preschool I am now entering the 10th grade. I Believe our school is great. They do everything to make you feel like your a part of the school. Everyone knows eachother and its a great atmosphere. I love our diversity being a young latina, i feel comfortable for who i am as a person. Ayer high is a great expirence and i recommend anyone to come .
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

I would rate it a zero if there is such, other wise an overall rating is 1. I would not recommend this school for any high school student. Currently I have a child attending and the child can not wait to leave the school. I would advise any parent before they would consider enrolling there child that they would fully check out the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Ayer middle high school is not great from a students veiw many teachers pick and choose favorites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2008

I beleive that Ayer Middle School is an average to un-average school. It is half-way descent. I know the school can do a better job. The eighth grade team by far is the best group of teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2008

I think ayer middle school is an ok school its not the wrost but its not the best school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2006

Ayer High School has been one of the worst experiences my daughter has ever been through. Please don't do that to your child, keep them away from that horrible school. The faculty treats their students as if they were young children. Ridiculous. Ayer does not prepare teens to go on to college, nevermind provides them with a small and unhealthy lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

I think the school system is ok. It is not as amazing as everyone says, but you do get a good education. I have to agree with the person who said that the 8th grade team is great, because I had them and they were my favorite teachers. Parents are really involved which is a good thing. They help us raise money. We have extracurricular activities, but I think there should be more of them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2005

I finally had the chance to visit my cousin's school, which is the Ayer high school. Since I'm from another country I was a little afraid of getting dissapointed, because, of course I had my hopes really high, as u normally do when you go abroad. But when I got there I knew I was at the right place. Everyone, the staff, the teachers and the students welcomed me as I was one of them and the atmosphere was so comfortable, that I did not want to go home after all. I truely believe these young students can make a difference in the world after graduation, because they learn to be true to themselves and help each other, which makes the Ayer high school above the other.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 26, 2003

Ayer Schools are the best school system I have come across in my travels across the country searching for schools. The eigth grade team is great.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
81%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 68%
Hispanic 10% 15%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Black 9% 8%
Asian 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

141 Washington St
Ayer, MA 01432
Website: Click here
Phone: (978) 772-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Groton School
Groton, MA



Lawrence Academy
Groton, MA


Littleton High School
Littleton, MA



Westford Academy
Westford, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT