Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Barnstable, MA
Students enrolled: 250
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Cape Cod Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
Cape Cod Academy is an exceptional school that provided my 2 children with a top-notch education. The faculty are very knowledgeable , and truly care about each and every student. They support all learners, and help each student be their very best. Students are encouraged to participate in all areas of school life, from community service groups, to sports, to arts. My children had the opportunity to participate and be leaders on sports teams, clubs like Mock Trial and Student Council, and Community Service Organization. They both went on to exceptional colleges, and attribute their growing successes to the foundation and support they received at Cape Cod Academy. Check this school out, and become part of a wonderful community!

Cape Cod Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a parent
Our children have attended CCA for several years and we couldn't be happier. The teachers know our kids so well - and know how to inspire them about learning. And they are thriving in this environment. And beyond the great academics, CCA promotes the values that we as parents want for our children - strength of character, self-confidence, self-reliance, empathy, and respect. It's part of their daily experience at school.


Cape Cod Academy 5

Posted May 08, 2015
- a parent
This is an amazing school that offers the children of Cape Cod a wonderful educational opportunity. The schools offers small class sizes along with an invested and caring faculty. Students at CCA are given the space to thrive in and out of the classroom.

Cape Cod Academy 1

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
Cape Cod Academy- a school where bullying is not only permitted, but then denied ever happens when they are in court.

Cape Cod Academy 2

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
This school is not what it seems at first glance: landscaped grounds, pictures of smiling children on their website and the word "academy" may give you the false impression that you are to receive a quality education. Not so. The administration is incredibly inflexible. The curriculum is thrown together and seems to have no logical sequence. Early grade phonics instruction is way below mediocre. The style of instruction caters to quiet, traditional learners, whose only occupation is reading. This school does not recognize a child's need for structure and movement. Since the student body is small, chances for building lasting friendships are limited for most. On a positive note, Everyday Math in the elementary school and the use of math computer programs seem to produce results. Other than that, mostly average teachers teach in a very old fashioned way without empathy or any understanding of learning styles, always blaming the child instead of looking at their own inability to teach. Notable exception: the 2nd grade teacher. Insult to injury: you are paying for it. Your solution: be on top of phonics and math in elementary and apply to Falmouth Academy starting in 7th grade.


Cape Cod Academy 5

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
Choosing to enroll our children at CCA is one of the best decisions my husband and I have ever made. Our older daughter struggles in math, but excels in reading, writing and the arts. At her former school, the only focus was on her struggles, as they were teaching to the state test. At CCA, the teachers have focused on her strengths. It has been so refreshing, and it's obvious that our daughter feels more success and encouragement from each of her teachers. As a result, our daughter is showing more confidence in herself. The math is coming along too, with some wonderful support! For our younger daughter, she is busy creating PowerPoint presentations for her monthly book reports, actively learning Spanish, and taking part in science laboratory experiments as part of the Lower School curriculum. Both girls are gaining a top tier educational experience at Cape Cod Academy in a supportive and welcoming environment. We could not ask for more!

Cape Cod Academy 3

Posted November 27, 2012
- a community member
This school is very basic. It doesn't offer a wide arrangement of languages, art, or anything to do with art classes. The teachers here only teach one way; traditional. Im a student here in 8th grade and I don't really like it here. The school is not worth the staggering tuition price. The elementary school seems ok, the middle school is a mess, and almost everybody complains about the high school. Although it has a 100% college graduate rate, its not a top notch school.

Cape Cod Academy 1

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
Great school, great teachers. Lots of support for eager learners. Latest technology incorporated in the classrooms.


Cape Cod Academy 2

Posted March 07, 2012
- a parent
If you child is a traditional learner, then he or she will do well here. But, if your child has even a slightly different learning style, then he or she will flounder. My son attended CCA for two years in the early grades, and he absolutely wilted. Although he is a bright child, he did not did not do well completing worksheets while sitting at a desk for long periods of time. The teachers and support staff were quite nice and claimed to want to understand his learning style, but their myopic view of education, and their philosopy that educational success can only be measured by how well a child regurgitates information prevented them from tapping into the incredible potential that he possessed. He has been at a different, independent school here on the Cape now for several years and has truly blossomed, because his new teachers understood that learning needs to involve movement, creative thinking and hands-on experiences. He is now at the top of his class.

Cape Cod Academy 1

Posted December 03, 2011
- a community member
I am a student and despite all of the other revviews that say this is "Great" I hate it. I can't wait to go away to Tabor Academy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cape Cod Academy
50 Osterville West Barnstable Road, Barnstable, MA  02655
(508) 428-5400
Last modified Cape Cod Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Cape Cod Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top