Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Waldorf School of Cape Cod

Private | PK-8 | 121 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Barnstable

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $282,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

The Waldorf School of Cape Cod has been a wonderful experience so far for my 2 children. They actually enjoy school and are making close friendships. They are learning skills in grade school that I didn't learn until college, but all presented in a child friendly & accessible way. A peaceful school with a close knit community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

This school is great in a lot of ways but for some reason the school has been a disaster at handling bullying and behavior problems. By disaster I mean other kids hurting other kids right in front of other teachers and not following the school's own policies to make it stop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

If you think this Waldorf School is like other successful Waldorf Schools, PLEASE THINK AGAIN. The grades are a GAMBLE depending on the TEACHER your child will have for 8 YEARS. There is little to no accountability for poor quality and inconsistent standards of education and behavior. The admin and faculty dogma is closely held in secrecy which is part and parcel to the Rudolph Steiner s teachings and if questioned you will receive patent answers with little thought to your child s specific needs. If you find a faculty member that is willing to listen without prejudice to your concerns, good luck. Even the faculty who are known amongst their colleagues for poor performance have job safety. Many families have left this school after investing many years in it because their concerns have been systematically swept under the rug. Mum's the word here. I for one fell under the spell of this school. I found that my child and the majority of classmates that stayed were left with such deficits in academics that intense interventions were needed for most. Our class started with 14 or more and ended with 4. Be aware of retention rates at this school. They differ among the faculty greatly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

My son has been at the Waldorf School of Cape Cod for six years, and we are so happy that we found it. The teachers are OUTSTANDING, and the education so embracing - solid humanities, art, music, drama, hand-works, woodworking, foreign language (French and Latin) and sportsmanship through games and outdoor activity. Learning also takes place during recess (remember RECESS?!?), festivals, and extra curricular courses like gardening and building rockets. But best of all, my son LOVES SCHOOL and LEARNING. He looks forward to going to school. How special is THAT in today's world?!? Class sizes are small. He gets the full attention of the teachers, and his best friends are his classmates. Children are taught HOW to respect each other and grownups alike. And as Parents, we feel a kinship with each other. Everyone is asked to help with festivals and school activities. Together we make the school a more meaningful place. The Waldorf School is not driven top-down by a head master. It offers more than just an education - it's a whole community of families working with teachers that value children, learning, and the journey that is parenthood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

There is no boss at a Waldorf School which means there is no one accountable. Faculty hold the position of authority and the members change yearly. Issues are continually deferred for lengthy amounts of times and conclusions are rarely met or shared. In the past several years the administration staff has changed every couple of years for a total of approximately six changes to the Administrator position, six to the Administration Assistant position and several more to the bookkeeper position. There has also been many staff hired and let go in positions such as Director of Admissions and Director of Outreach. In short there is little consistency in the Administration staff. Some faculty will cover their colleagues backs at great lengths even when evidence of unacceptable behaviors are present or educational needs of the students are not being met.There is enormous amounts of indifference directed towards any parent who may question the Waldorf School or challenge them in any way.Children are not held in reverence here at the Waldorf School of Cape Cod as is the Rudolph Steiner teaching. In fact most issues are viewed as the child's and not the adults in charge. Take a good look
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

My daughter attended Waldorf schools, 4 years in Florida and 5th -8th grade here on Cape Cod and is now a successful freshman in collage in Florence, Italy. I found the Waldorf education to be an exceptional balance of academics, nature, arts and music unlike any other grade school experience. Allowing young children to have their childhood including fantasy and play while academic rigor takes a back seat works. She was slow to read but was not pushed and did so when she was ready. She had no problem transferring to Sturgis Charter after Waldorf graduation and is now doing very well as a college freshman in a foreign country. I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to choose a Waldorf school for my daughter and wish more parents had such a wholesome educational choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

You have never seen more dedicated teachers and staff, or a more sensible, logical way of educating children. I think of this as a gift to my kids. This school has made me one happy dad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

We enrolled our son and daughter at Waldorf last year. It was the best choice we could have ever made. My son had attended 1st grade in the public school in Sandwich. His class had 23 children and all they did was fill out worksheets. At Waldorf he has blossomed. They learn through movement and creativity. He is so happy and loves to learn now. It is such a nurturing environment. My daughter is in preschool there and she has had an equally amazing experience. If we had had the opportunity we would have sent our children sooner. There is nothing like this learning environment out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

My daughter attended this school for 11 years. The school was instrumental in developing her love of learning, her artistic capacities and her strong self confidence. Her high school teachers were amazed at her general knowledge and, in particular, her grasp of history. In the early years of her education I had concerens about the developmental approach to learning that means some children learn to read later than they would have at some other schools. I was relieved when I saw the curriculum become more challenging each year and I was highly impressed by the level of expectations for acheivement by middle school. Ultimately, I saw that the gentle aproach to teaching young children is what helps them develop a great sense of comfort in school and ultimately supports the eagerness for learning I saw in my daughter and her classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2005

On the positive side, this school has some of the best and most dedicated teachers I've ever seen. My son could not find a better teacher. He regularly runs up and hugs his teacher after school. His peer group in his class is well-integrated. I've seen little hostile interactions among the peers, contrary to my own experience in public schools. I did wonder about my child not reading in first grade, but now he's reading adult books in grade 4. The non-punitive approach seems to support the growth of the child's natural interests in learning. I'm confident that my son's positive experiences will support a lifelong interest in education and exploration. On the negative side, tuition keeps going up. Its hard to justify ten grand a year when there are excellent public schools in the Boston metro area. The school is anti-father and the previous administration and billing was incompetent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2005

My child attended this school for 8 years and received an outstanding education. She and her peers are excelling at their secondary schools. As my younger child still attends and will until graduation, I can verify that the school is a safe loving environment for her where she also is receiving an outstanding academic and social preparation for high school. Visit the school, talk with the faculty and staff and parents, and see the children - confident, happy, bright, engaged in learning - who could ask for more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

My daughter has been attending Waldorf School of Cape Cod for five years, completing second grade. She's learned to knit, mold beeswax, sing odd songs, and has barely learned to read or write at the age of eight. This school's emphasis on political correctiveness and art has completely absorbed their ability to teach any fundamental aspect of early childhood learning. Though my daughter has always received good marks in class, she is very far behind the other children her age who go to other schools in every subject. There have been several cases of violence that have been dismissed by the school system, and there seems to be a total lacking of any form of discipline. I anxiuosly await the end of the school year when I can enroll her into a different school. Please save your child's education and put them into a different school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

The Waldorf School of Cape Cod is an amazing nurturing environment. The teachers are absolutely incredible. Every child is allowed to be themselves and flourish as an individual. They concentrate on creativity and building confidence. The children are so eager to learn. They love coming to school. My daughter has formed a bond with her teacher and classmates that will last forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2004

I feel blessed that my children are educated in an environment that pays respect to so much more than simply their level of intelligence. Great care is given to educate them with respect for their temperament, abilities, health, level of concentration and so many other aspects that make every child different from the next. Every child at the school is educated and cared for in the manner that best suits who they are individually. A solid curriculum is backed with an enorous emphasis on the Arts, meaning my children graduate 8th grade knowing more than mathematical or historical facts. Wind instruments, violin, dance, watercolor, clay, woodwork, knitting, and many other artistic pursuits are de rigueur. And, most importantly, becuase they're taught with respect by teachers who love their work, my children have a passion for learning that extends far beyond the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2004

This is Cape Cod's best elementary school. Offering an outstanding education for every child through integrated arts - literature, two foreign languages,performing and practical arts - the Waldorf School of Cape Cod offers families a truly alternative education. My children are well prepared for high school and beyond. They excel in mathematics, languages, reading and writing, drama and music. This is the most well-rounded education offered to families on the Cape and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 67%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
Fax number
  • (508) 759-7383

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 Old Oyster Road
Barnstable, MA 02635
Website: Click here
Phone: (508) 420-1005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Cape Cod Academy
Barnstable, MA


Quashnet School
Mashpee, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT