Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sturgis Charter Public School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
The administration is dedicated to the students and their success. This is a must for all school environments but especially in the IB. Most of the teachers go out of their way to help students be successful and it shows. This is by far the greatest high school in the state.

Sturgis Charter Public School 5

Posted December 14, 2014
- a parent
I feel very fortunate that my son was able to attend this school. He has ADHD and it takes him longer to complete assignments - organization is always a challenge. However, the teachers always offered extra help for him. He could go during lunch or after school and they went way above and beyond to give him all the help he wanted. I've watched him blossom at this school, becoming a young man who thinks critically and is a well rounded active citizen. When he struggled, he was encouraged and supported. Never was it suggested that he leave. Is it hard? Yes, but Is it worth it? Yes!!! I also love the culture at the school. Students appreciate each others uniqueness. Perhaps it is partially the rigor of the school that helps the students bond with each other. The students have a great rapport with the teachers who participate in the music program, in field days, and dressing up for schools spirit days. A truly great school!


Sturgis Charter Public School 5

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
I felt compelled to comment after reading some comments that are erroneous. Anyone that tells you this school only caters to academically gifted students is blatantly lying. My son entered Sturgis in his sophomore year. He's on an IEP and struggled in math and science. Hard work on his part and tremendous support from his teachers have resulted in a great success story. My son is now a senior and his science grade is an A and his math grade a B. That didn't happen by accident. Our IEP meetings have always been positive and my son always got whatever help he needed. Thanks to Sturgis he will be heading off to college next fall. This school does not in any way encourage students to leave the school if they have learning differences. That is absurd.

Sturgis Charter Public School 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a student
Sturgis is an exceptional school as the majority of these comments will tell you why. The teachers are devoted to their students. They do whatever it takes; work after school, during lunch, and anything they can to make sure you get the grade you deserve. I was not a great student in elementary school, but the teachers and overall atmosphere in the school were huge motivators to succeed and I worked very hard from then on to become the best I could be. On the other hand, my brother is not performing to the best of his ability, but he loves the school. The teachers have reached out to him and my parents to ask what they could do to improve his learning multiple times. They always want to know if there is anything they could do to help. The school also works very hard to integrate disabled students into the IB curriculum and have a great program for them! It is a rigorous school, but absolutely worth it for the teacher relationships, prestige, and amazing memories. Plus an IB Diploma/Certificate isn't too shabby!

Sturgis Charter Public School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
After reading the last two posts from April 2014 I felt I should comment. I have to admit when my child entered Sturgis I was skeptical. There is effort by traditional educators to disparage the reputation of Sturgis with negative comments and erroneous claims. The classes at Sturgis are all honors level and increase in difficulty as they progress. I wasn't sure our child could handle this. The staff at Sturgis stayed late, worked through lunches and created extra help groups to ensure his success. Many of our child's friends are on IEP's or individual education plans and all of them that we know of were successful last year and are returning this year. Sturgis is rated as the best public school in Massachusetts and one of the best in the country for a reason. They do not cherry pick students as claimed, they push them and teach them.


Sturgis Charter Public School 1

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Sturgis is technically a public school but the administration and some teachers definitely encourage students who are not academically strong, on SPED plans and who are ELL to leave.

Sturgis Charter Public School 2

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
Sturgis is good for students who are academically gifted but not good for average students, ELL Students, Special Ed students or students who do not find school easy. There is an effort to support the really strong students. Yet, students who are not strong are encouraged to leave. In this sense, Sturgis is not like a typical public school, such as Barnstable, because there is not a concerted effort by teachers and administrators to help all children learn and achieve their academic potential.

Sturgis Charter Public School 4

Posted February 12, 2014
- a parent
Two of my kids attend the middle school and it has been a great overall experience. Sending them to Rising Tide was definitely the right choice. The teachers are young and engaging, and really challenge the students to think and learn. The school's leadership is very focused on providing a community that is safe and welcoming and which encourages the students to thrive. The facility is adequate but not great; however, they will be doing extensive renovations this summer that should fix these issues.


Sturgis Charter Public School 5

Posted September 22, 2011
- a student
They tell you it's really hard, but they make it sound like they're throwing you into the canal to teach you to swim. In fact, Freshman year is easier than a lot of eighth grades, and the entire staff works to build you up as a person, and to increase your efficiency and academic abilities. Eventually, yes, it is very hard, but you're never alone. The teachers, the guidance counselors, the librarians, even Mr. Marble and Mr. Hieser are always there for you. They coax you through to become a much better person, for yourself and for the world.

Sturgis Charter Public School 5

Posted June 19, 2010
- a student
Great school, great students, the greatest teachers. The teachers and small size are the key to the schools success. Creates well-rounded individuals. I thank the school for everything it has done for me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sturgis Charter Public School
427 Main Street, Barnstable, MA  02601
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (508) 778-1782
Last modified Sturgis Charter Public School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top