Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
270 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Belmont Day School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
Belmont Day School is the perfect mixture of academic rigour and loving/caring environment. From the moment we stepped on the grounds were were impressed. The entire school community is welcoming and truly cares about your family and child. Our shy and sometimes reserved Kindergartener has been able to thrive and grow at BDS. She has continued her love of learning and cannot wait to go to school every day. The school is so thoughtful about every single detail. I would highly recommend the school to anyone interested in a private school. The parent community is quite close and there are many opportunities to become involved.

Belmont Day School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
EXCELLENT SCHOOL!!!! Our daughter entered BDS in the 3rd grade. She has had a wonderful experience. The teachers are very caring and committed. Our daughter is challenged and loves goes to school each day.


Belmont Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
The inconsistency of teacher quality at BDS is a huge issue and a big red flag as consistency is the hallmark of excellent organizations. The variation between high and low in teacher quality is way too wide. There is little accountability as the ERB tests are done at end of the year and results don't arrive til summer at which point you will never see those teachers again. There is also inconsistency within a single teacher. One teacher was the very best for our high achiever and the very worst for the kid who struggles. Overall I would giving teacher quality a C-

Belmont Day School 3

Posted April 16, 2015
- a parent
Pluses; - strong head of school - Cozy culture - Very enthusiastic parents - Some really good teachers Minuses; - Head of school is leaving (as is head of upper school) - Pretty protected. Not a lot of grit development - Parents seem to be more into the private school thing than true quality of education. - Inconsistent teacher quality (some pretty mediocre ones) - No capability to identify or treat any kind of learning disability- you are on your own

Belmont Day School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
I have sent three very different children to BDS. Each has been nutured, pushed and encouraged to be self-motivated learners, while also being happy, successful, and nice. The school concentrates on the things you would expect -- strong academics, arts, and athletics -- and also on character, something that is important but not always emphasized in schools. Each of my children has gone off to wonderful independent secondary schools where they have felt well prepared and have done well socially and academically. Two have completed high school and moved on to colleges where they are self-motivated, engaged members of the community. As a parent who likes to be involved in my children's education, I have found BDS to be welcoming of parent involvement in many aspects of the community. We have been very pleased with the school head, faculty and coaches.


Belmont Day School 5

Posted June 27, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school. Very strong academically, while being supportive and community oriented. My daughter loves going to school, loves learning and is challenged. She is very smart, curious, and social. The teachers and staff continue to surprise me with the lengths they go to for student development. We are so happy with this school.

Belmont Day School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
Belmont Day School provides an incredibly thoughtful, dynamic, and rich approach to the education of our children. All students, in all grades, learn public speaking skills in class, in school assemblies, and for special presentations. All students learn leadership skills with the expectation of providing and receiving regular feedback to/from both classmates and teachers. All students learn communication skills and how to be good citizens of the school and larger community. They are provided with a safe environment and a way to learn the necessary soft skills to communicate and lead effectively. We appreciate the strong curriculum, the resources, the ability to serve different types of students, the athletic program, and a small student to teacher ratio. Lastly, we are impressed with the strong communication and interaction among faculty, students, administration, and parents, resulting in better decisions and quicker resolution of problems.

Belmont Day School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
I have two children that have been students at the Belmont Day School and, while my children are very different from each other, they have both benefited greatly from the Belmont Day School. In addition to learning the basics reading, writing & arithmetic (which are taught very well) they have learned how to work in groups, how to conduct original research, how to analyze and think critically about information, and how to communicate effectively. My children have studied The Odyssey, Supreme Court decisions on civil rights, the 12-bar blues as a form of poetry, and genetics--the thoughtful teachers deliver a compelling curriculum. On top of its very strong academics, the school offers enriched athletics and arts programs. All of this wonderful learning is wrapped up in a bigger lesson about how to be a good member of a community. I think that it might be because of this strong focus on community that such a disproportionately large number of the Belmont Day School graduates, including my graduate, go on to take leadership roles in their high school governments and high school clubs and the Belmont Day School graduates are at all of the best high schools in New England.


Belmont Day School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school. Broad and interesting curriculum, great teachers and staff, wonderful students, engaged community that seeks to include all. Have been especially impressed by how tuned in they are to the learning needs of all of their students, in particular boys (for instance allowing them to use alternative seating). The school doesn't just pay lip service to the school's core values - they are discussed and woven into every fabric of the school. The students are bright, warm hearted, joyful and fully invested in their school. The school works with parents to meet the needs of their child, and the school is open to feedback. Unlike some other schools they don't just assume that they know what is best for your child. My kids are excited to go to school every day. Wish I could have gone to a school like BDS.

Belmont Day School 1

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
Do not (Repeat: DO. NOT.) send an unconventional child to this school. There. I just saved your whole family years of agony.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Belmont Day School
55 Day School Lane, Belmont, MA  02478
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (617) 484-3078
Last modified Belmont Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top