Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Berlin Memorial 1

Posted April 01, 2016
- a teacher
A few teachers are sweet, kind and considerate and most are just passing the time. School does not have too many extras. Test scores are horrible!

Berlin Memorial 1

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Berlin has so much potential if they just start working toward a higher standard. There are parents at the school that actually think homework is a bad thing in the 3rd grade. Some of the parents and teachers are so backward it is as though I am back in the 1980s. They could compete against schools like Harvard if they stop trying to fit the mold. Bullies abound!


Berlin Memorial 1

Posted January 03, 2016
- a parent
They just don't understand education. They have dropped the ball big time. If your child does not fit into the mold of the model student they do not know what to do. They stress the wrong things and should be focusing on education, not popularity.

Berlin Memorial
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
My child is always most important to this teacher. Every child is most important! Everyone matters, is cared for, and what is most important in her classroom is that the children feel good about themselves. Bravo to you Mrs. U.

Berlin Memorial 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
Small class sizes, great teachers, full day kindergarten. We are very happy with the school, and our kids LOVE it! Afterschool program is also wonderful.


Berlin Memorial 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
Smaller class sizes than you get in private school. Some really great, dedicated teachers. New principal and superintendent, still getting the hang of the town, but there are some very involved parent groups, and communications seems to be improving. Curious which teacher complained below, because if a bad teacher isn't tolerated, I think that's a plus to the school

Berlin Memorial 1

Posted December 23, 2013
- a teacher
Full of bullies, from the parents on down to the staff and the students. If you are not a traditional small town person, who will follow blindly you will be ostracized and treated badly. The new principal has the audacity to say there is not bullying in the school. Talk about a blind eye. I thought it would be better when the last principal left, but nothing has really changed. Sad, because the size is a plus and a hindrance at the same time.

Berlin Memorial 4

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
BMS is a small school. This can be a + or -. It depends on your family. For us it works well. We have had consistently good to amazingly wonderful experiences with our children's teachers. There are some truly dedicated and fantastic educators in the school. We've been very fortunate to have our children well matched with their teachers. All have communicated with us both in person and via email when we've had questions or concerns. Communication overall with the school has not always been good but the administration has always been open to hearing our concerns and shared the reasoning behind why they do what they do. Sometimes changes have been made and sometimes not. The things that have most impressed me about our school are possible only because of the small size. Each and every child is given opportunities to get up in front of their peers right from the start. It is my sincere hope that this will help my children avoid the paralyzing public speaking anxiety I have grappled with all my life. They also get tremendous opportunities to participate be it in music, art, or physical education. It's not as easy to lose yourself in the crowd as would be possible in a larger school.


Berlin Memorial 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Anyone considering moving into the town of Berlin should be happy to learn that Berlin Memorial School, the elementary school for the town, is a wonderful place to send your children to. The small class sizes (my two boys have had classes ranging from 12-17 in the past four years) make for a wonderful teacher to student ratio, and allow for differentiated and personlized instruction. The teachers truly care about their students, and the principal is hands on, engaged, and knows each student by name. Do not be fooled by test scores or numbers assigned to a school. This is a wonderful school, on par if not better in some ways than the higher ranked Northborough schools.

Berlin Memorial 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a parent
BMS has caring teachers, strong leadership, involved parents and a supportive community. Any school, excellent or otherwise, worth its weight should always be working towards continuous improvement and BMS leadership recognizes its strengths and works to improve on its weaknesses consistently.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berlin Memorial
34 South Street, Berlin, MA  01503
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (978) 838-2417
Last modified Berlin Memorial is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top