Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8 & Ungraded
Public
Beverly, MA
Students enrolled: 970

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
The Briscoe Middle School is unsatisfactory as are most of the schools in the Beverly Public School district. While this may seem to be a blanket statement, just google "Special Education in Beverly, MA School District" and read the 47 page report prepared by an independent group. The Special Education is horrific and the general education population suffers as a result. The report cites the fact that Spec Ed expenses take up a hugely disproportionate "chunk" out of the town's general school expense. 50% of the Spec Ed funds go to paying for out-of-district placement for special education kids whose parents have successfully won in litigation cases because their kids special needs are not being met. This eats into the services for the general population. It's a lose-lose situation for either group (Special Needs and General Ed). The report was prepared in 2011 after years of complaints and none of the suggestions have been implemented. It's inexcusable because it's absolutely avoidable-not enough room to write where the problems lie.
1 person found this helpful

Briscoe Middle School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
Briscoe is a fantastic middle school in every which way you want to look at it! The teachers are completely devoted to their students and go out of their way to make sure they are learning and happy. The academic course offerings are quite vast for a middle school--heck, there is even a "Tech Ed" elective course where the kids are hands on in learn engineering, manufacturing, and marketing! I've spoken to many Briscoe parents and all our kids are different whether it's their gender, academic level, grade, outgoing-to-shy personalities, etc. and Briscoe seems to accommodate every type of student, and does it well. Parents and students are all happy with the school. Extracurricular activities are great, the field trips are fun and educational, and the principals are friendly and very student-oriented yet still run a strict, disciplined school. I feel confident that my children are getting everything plus more from their middle school experience here and will succeed at any high school we choose later on due to their attending Briscoe Middle School.


Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
Briscoe is the shining nightmare of the mediocre (at best) school district. We moved from a nice house in a nice neighborhood in Beverly to a neighboring town for one reason-the school district.
1 person found this helpful

Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted February 04, 2012
- a parent
Briscoe Middle School is horrific. Unfortunately our oldest son is a product of the Beverly School system and will most likely suffer for our mistake. The education is about 2 years behind private schools so moving him now is not even an option. We have 2 younger children that will be attending St. John's and at least will obtain an adequate fundamental education. If you have children and live in Beverly my best advice is to stay as far away from the public schools as possible.
1 person found this helpful

Briscoe Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
Amazing. The teachers work you hard and everything is organized. You learn so much in just one day. Plus, new kids usually become swarmed with friends on the first day and is a more healthy environment socially as well as academically. Though there are a few rusty teachers here and there, most of them are amazing at what they do and it is obvious. You go home with lots of homework, but because of what you already learned, most of it is simple. Though the Teachers do push you hard, you get used to it and learn to go with the flow. As for the other reviewer who doesn't appreciate Briscoe, don't listen. They haven't experienced it themselves


Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted May 26, 2010
- a community member
If I were a parent searching for a middle school and read these comments, I would not put my child in Briscoe. Good schools should not be defined by extracurricular activities. Judging from some of the comments, these people are unable to spell or articulate very well. As for the former student who believes that "caring" outweighs good teaching, it is no wonder that he hates St. John's. It is a school with high expectations and accountability. He obviously has no idea what 5 star school can be.
1 person found this helpful

Briscoe Middle School 4

Posted January 19, 2009
- a community member
Briscoe is a great public middle school which helped me, a former student, garner the skills I needed to attend St. John's Prep (even though I hate it there...) Briscoe has some great teachers who truly carew about the education of the students. Some of them aren't really great teachers, but they still care about the student, and if your child cares enough, they will succeed. If your child doesn't care, put simply, they will fail. Like the high school, the band program is superb... Mr. Costa is truly one of a kind. Mr. Goncalves (ahem... Mr. G) is one of the best Vice Principals on te North Shore- he earns respect unlike many of the V-P's who are just pompous asses and expect respect. As the previous reviewer stated, more extracurriculars would make BMS a five star school.

Briscoe Middle School 4

Posted September 23, 2008
- a parent
My kids love Briscoe. The strong leadership and wonderful teachers make going to school a great enviorment. I have a 7th grade handicap daughter and Briscoe has acomidated her in every way. We could not be happier. My son entered the 6th grade and Briscoe has made this transistion easy for him. The only thing missing is more extra curricular activities.


Briscoe Middle School 3

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
Brisoce is an old but beautiful building. The principal is very much on top of things and seems to have a good idea of what the school needs to move forward. The teachers too are very good. But, there lacks enough extra curricular activities for kids. Class sizes are pretty big and the building is crowded, but the school is very good overall.

Briscoe Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2008
- a parent
I think Beverly High School is a good school. There are issues that need to be looked at closer like: too much liberty in the halls in the forms of kissing and touching. This just needs to be monitor as it is expected for teenagers to loose control if there is no enforcement. In general, the education is good and so are the programs offered.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Briscoe Middle School
7 Sohier Rd, Beverly, MA  01915
(978) 921-6103
Last modified Briscoe Middle School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Briscoe Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top