Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Briscoe Middle School 4

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Both of my daughters are currently attending Briscoe, one in the 7th and one in the 6th. There was an issue with bullying at first with my oldest daughter but after talking with the guidance counselor it was quickly stomped down. Beautiful building and my kids love their teachers.

Briscoe Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Mr Houlihan is the guidance councilor at Briscoe, he has done an outstanding job this year with my daughter and the bullies that targeted her early this school year. My daughter has said he is her favorite person there and is always willing to actually listen to the students.


Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a community member
Be very wary about sending your child to this school. The administration has no clue what they are doing, nursing is lacking, special ed needs help and has no idea how to run a meeting. The superintendent is by far clueless as to whats happening in his schools!!! If you want your child to have an education find somewhere else to send them. Not sure how they get an 8/10 rating

Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
The Briscoe Middle School is unsatisfactory as are most of the schools in the Beverly Public School district. While this may seem to be a blanket statement, just google "Special Education in Beverly, MA School District" and read the 47 page report prepared by an independent group. The Special Education is horrific and the general education population suffers as a result. The report cites the fact that Spec Ed expenses take up a hugely disproportionate "chunk" out of the town's general school expense. 50% of the Spec Ed funds go to paying for out-of-district placement for special education kids whose parents have successfully won in litigation cases because their kids special needs are not being met. This eats into the services for the general population. It's a lose-lose situation for either group (Special Needs and General Ed). The report was prepared in 2011 after years of complaints and none of the suggestions have been implemented. It's inexcusable because it's absolutely avoidable-not enough room to write where the problems lie.

Briscoe Middle School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
Briscoe is a fantastic middle school in every which way you want to look at it! The teachers are completely devoted to their students and go out of their way to make sure they are learning and happy. The academic course offerings are quite vast for a middle school--heck, there is even a "Tech Ed" elective course where the kids are hands on in learn engineering, manufacturing, and marketing! I've spoken to many Briscoe parents and all our kids are different whether it's their gender, academic level, grade, outgoing-to-shy personalities, etc. and Briscoe seems to accommodate every type of student, and does it well. Parents and students are all happy with the school. Extracurricular activities are great, the field trips are fun and educational, and the principals are friendly and very student-oriented yet still run a strict, disciplined school. I feel confident that my children are getting everything plus more from their middle school experience here and will succeed at any high school we choose later on due to their attending Briscoe Middle School.


Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
Briscoe is the shining nightmare of the mediocre (at best) school district. We moved from a nice house in a nice neighborhood in Beverly to a neighboring town for one reason-the school district.

Briscoe Middle School 1

Posted February 04, 2012
- a parent
Briscoe Middle School is horrific. Unfortunately our oldest son is a product of the Beverly School system and will most likely suffer for our mistake. The education is about 2 years behind private schools so moving him now is not even an option. We have 2 younger children that will be attending St. John's and at least will obtain an adequate fundamental education. If you have children and live in Beverly my best advice is to stay as far away from the public schools as possible.

Briscoe Middle School 5

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
Amazing. The teachers work you hard and everything is organized. You learn so much in just one day. Plus, new kids usually become swarmed with friends on the first day and is a more healthy environment socially as well as academically. Though there are a few rusty teachers here and there, most of them are amazing at what they do and it is obvious. You go home with lots of homework, but because of what you already learned, most of it is simple. Though the Teachers do push you hard, you get used to it and learn to go with the flow. As for the other reviewer who doesn't appreciate Briscoe, don't listen. They haven't experienced it themselves


Briscoe Middle School 4

Posted January 19, 2009
- a community member
Briscoe is a great public middle school which helped me, a former student, garner the skills I needed to attend St. John's Prep (even though I hate it there...) Briscoe has some great teachers who truly carew about the education of the students. Some of them aren't really great teachers, but they still care about the student, and if your child cares enough, they will succeed. If your child doesn't care, put simply, they will fail. Like the high school, the band program is superb... Mr. Costa is truly one of a kind. Mr. Goncalves (ahem... Mr. G) is one of the best Vice Principals on te North Shore- he earns respect unlike many of the V-P's who are just pompous asses and expect respect. As the previous reviewer stated, more extracurriculars would make BMS a five star school.

Briscoe Middle School 4

Posted September 23, 2008
- a parent
My kids love Briscoe. The strong leadership and wonderful teachers make going to school a great enviorment. I have a 7th grade handicap daughter and Briscoe has acomidated her in every way. We could not be happier. My son entered the 6th grade and Briscoe has made this transistion easy for him. The only thing missing is more extra curricular activities.

Nearby schools

Briscoe Middle School
7 Sohier Road, Beverly, MA  01915
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (978) 921-6103
Last modified Briscoe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top