Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-9
Private
Beverly, MA
Students enrolled: 436
Before care: No

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shore Country Day School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
We have three children at Shore and our kids love going to school. They are challenged daily, learning fantastic study habits, and have wonderful role models in their teachers. Small class size, a code of conduct the students are expected to follow, and high expectations for class work are all part of why we are so satisfied with Shore. The students are receiving an incredibly well-rounded education, including daily gym class, music, theatre, art, Spanish, etc. There are also frequent field trips tied to the curriculum, community service work, recycling programs, and my son's favorite, a fantastic, healthy lunch every day (1 or 2 daily snacks are provided as well to the students). A full-time school nurse cares for the students, three gym teachers keep the kids moving and healthy, after-school programs provide even more interesting options for learning new things... I could go on and on about the wonderful school that is Shore Country Day. Parents are more than welcome to sit in on classes, talk with the teachers and staff, and volunteer in a variety of ways. The school works incredibly hard to build a sense of community for all!

Shore Country Day School 1

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
The issues are: (1) Their students are mostly "white kids" . The school forces itself into being a minority school. (2) The School is to BIG on getting money! They are actually really bad on who they get money and ways of finding it. Tuition for the upper grades are now costing to much (this will be even worse in the future). They will eventually price themselves out of the market. (3) The new addition of their lower school (2013) has added more grades (ie students) to finance this addition. This has dummied down the school with the current smart kids. (4) The cost for the school is becoming not competitive with good public education in nearby areas: ( Middleton, Andover, Marblehead, Manchester, Hamilton and Wenham). (5) The "Brand" of SCDS is getting to expensive for just a local regional school. (6) They have a 9th grade at the school. This is a "safety school grade" and most likely not good for the social development of your child.


Shore Country Day School 5

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
We have two children at Shore Country Day School and we could not be happier. They are both happy and thriving academically as well as socially.

Shore Country Day School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
We couldn't be happier that we have chosen Shore for our children's education. The quality of the faculty is beyond compare and their commitment and dedication is remarkable. My children are motivated and inspired and the depth of their learning is impressive. I am very satisfied with how well run the school is and the thought that is given to every aspect of its operation from the curriculum to the faculty to the physical space. At their tender age, they are happy and content at school and are developing skills and abilities that will hold them in very good stead. As a parent I couldn't ask for more.

Shore Country Day School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
Our children are new to shore this academic year. We are deeply impressed with the rigorous academic programs, the opportunities for building leadership skills, and the overall sense of community that Shore provides our children. We find that the faculty and staff deeply care about the students and are exceptional at what they provide. Both of our children are deeply enjoying their experience at Shore.


Shore Country Day School 1

Posted February 10, 2013
- a community member
I find it very interesting that six five star reviews came in to this site in almost one day. Makes me wonder if these are "real" reviews...

Shore Country Day School 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a parent
Hi, We are parents of 2 Shore Graduates who each spent 10 years there and of once current 8th grade student in her 9th year at Shore. clearly we are happy with all that Shore has done for our children. Not only was their placement into secondary school superb but more importantly they were very well prepared for the challenging workload that highschool presented. We are also convinced that the writing skills they learned at shore have continued to be a huge asset to our current college sophomore. In addition it has been the most nuturing environment .. the facultyand administration really got to know our kids and helped them during some of the stressful times middle school social ife can bring. We will be very sad when our final child graduates and would be happy to talk about Shore to any prospective parents.

Shore Country Day School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Put simply, Shore Country Day School is a fantastic place to educate your child. As a parent of multiple Shore students - each with different skills and abilities, I can say with complete candor that no other school provides Shore's level of customized education and personal growth. The faculty and staff are highly trained and fully aware of each child's unique needs. My children have learned to be confident, motivated students with an appreciation - even at a young age - of the benefits of a solid education. Perhaps most importantly, they have learned to be good citizens. This is the truest measure of Shore's value. As to the angry and negative reviews posted here by one or two outliers, I would only advise that you visit Shore for yourself and see why so many parents and students are thrilled with Shore. Do what I and many others have done - see through the unbalanced reviews posted by those with an axe to grind and check it out for yourself. It will be well worth your time.


Shore Country Day School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
We started at Shore 4 years with a child that was old enough to attend public school kindergarten, but was shy and timid and would have gotten lost in the crowd in a large class size. 4 years later she has now blossomed into a confident, happy and very well adjusted child. Most important, she loves learning, really loves learning. She is excited for school every day and lights up at night when talking about her accomplishments during the day. I attribute this growth to: 1) the teachers and their commitment to not only teach the children, but to let the children love what they are learning about 2) the small class sizes that allow the students equal attention from the teachers 3) the variety of the curriculum, even in the lower school, from the art to PE every day to spanish to music. We now have two other children that attend Shore and even though all their personalities are very different, the school has been a great fit for them from day one. Shore does the one that we believe is so important - it provides our children with an outstanding environment where they can grow and learn while building their confidence and being part of a very special community.

Shore Country Day School 5

Posted February 05, 2013
- a parent
Shore Country Day School provides a superior educational experience. Teachers are warm, intelligent and dedicated to creating the best possible experience for each of their students. Students are encouraged to challenge themselves to be their best in a supportive and creative environment. The Community Code serves as a solid foundation for the kids as they grapple with the day to day issues of living in a larger community. At Shore, character matters. We couldn't be more pleased to have our daughters learning and growing in such a dynamic and caring school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shore Country Day School
545 Cabot Street, Beverly, MA  01915
(978) 927-1700
Last modified Shore Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Shore Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top