Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Glen Urquhart School

Private | K-8 | 217 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Beverly

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $296,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2013

When my husband and I started looking into schools, we were overwhelmed by the amount of private schools in Massachusetts - there are a lot of them. But our son's preschool teacher recommended the Glen Urquhart School (or GUS as it's affectionately called). She said it was one of the best private schools north of Boston and the most nurturing private school on the North Shore. It wasn't until my son started attending that I understood what she meant by nurturing. At GUS, it's about more than just education, it's about the whole child and fostering happiness, confidence, curiosity and creativity. They seem as committed to each child's emotional growth and well-being as they are to their education. This is exactly what I love about GUS and, in talking with other parents, what many of them love about GUS and why they chose it. There is an incredible atmosphere on campus - and it's a beautiful campus - where students, faculty and parents all seem happy and excited about GUS. Most important of all is that my son loves it and he's excited to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

This is a unique school. Culture of collaboration over competition. Student centered. Respectful. Fun. Artistic. But with a world vision and great academics. When my daughter applied to private high schools she was told again and again "The GUS kids are the best prepared". It is the critical thinking skills and independence this school engenders. Two certified teachers in every classroom is a difference maker compared to other area independent schools. We have had two of our children go through GUS now and we can honestly say that they loved this school from start to finish. It is so reassuring as a parent to hear your child say "I loved school today".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

High cost/low value. Glen Urquhart School consistently ranks below the top area schools. Science and tech are sorely lacking. Staff, resources, facilities, and programs cannot match what other schools offer. Class sizes exceed those found at other schools and teachers clearly struggle to maintain order and provide individualized instruction. Perhaps attempts to compete and cost cutting, have caused deficiencies that hopefully over time can be overcome. Make no mistake, there is a fan base, our admissions are more flexible than other schools, making it possible for the private school experience that may not otherwise be available. Blogs from our various dept heads recognize shortcomings, however, solutions still seem unclear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

no complaints here; could be considered somewhat lacking if compared to the top schools in the area making it a bit pricey but, overall a decent experience....


Posted December 8, 2011

GUS prepared our two sons for their high school experience, both attending challenging high schools. In addition to the strong academics, the arts and drama are a key part of the curriculum. Sports teams in the middle school compete with other independent schools. Community Service is exceptional with the eighth graders participating in a work week where they are off campus to many locations for "real work" in various communities in Honduras, Appalachia, and Boston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

Two sons attended this school; outstanding academic preparation and commitment to community; thematic curriculum is wholly successful in integrating academic subjects to produce an excellent educational experience; sports program is engaging, competitive and well coached; art, drama, music and committed community service are strong positives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2010

Glen Urquhart provides a challenging academic curriculum within a nurturing environment. The administration and faculty get to know all the students well, which makes your child feel very secure and "known". There are two fully accredited teachers in K-8 which allows for a lot of smaller group teaching. Students who need to be challenged in a subject area are and students who need a little more help get that as well. Creativity is weaved throughout the curriculum which helps to exercise the right side of the brain to allow for students to "think outside of the box". There are many opportunities for hands-on learning and outdoor explorations. The school has science labs, computer lab, art studios, a greenhouse, nature trails and athletic fields. There are many field trips to support the curriculum. At GUS an athlete can also be an artist or musician and vice versa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

My family has recently returned to GUS having moved to another part of the state for several years. We are so happy to be back! The school is a wonderful place to learn and a warm, welcoming community. With the addition of the new Upper School building, and some great young faculty, things are really going in the right direction. Not only does GUS have a strong academic program, it has a true commitment to community service across all grade levels. This commitment culminates in a week-long service project in 8th grade. Kids have the choice of working at an orphanage in Honduras, working in New Orleans, or locally on the North Shore and in Boston. The fully integrated commitment to community service really sets Glen Urquhart School apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Glen Urquhart had some ups and downs, overall. I felt that my preparation for secondary school was sort of uneven: while my writing skills were exemplary and far more advanced than most of my classmates, I actually found that I had some gaps in my Algebra I that gave me trouble when I took Algebra II in tenth grade. I am, however, performing well with an extremely challenging course of studies and felt that I was more or less prepared to excell. The added bonus of GUS was the preparation we received for standardized testing: my lowest SAT score was a 640 on the math section, with a 740 on critical reading and 790 on writing and mechanics. All in all, the school needs some improvement but is working out the kinks as it grows. --Alumnae


Posted October 1, 2008

I love my school. The students are wonderful, the teachers are wonderful, the activities are wonderful...everything is wonderful! The teachers (for the most part) are funny and interesting. I really like how we have sports in school, because I wouldn't be doing one otherwise. I also like that we take drama, music, latin and spanish as required courses. It is awesome to go to school at Glen Urquhart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2008

I love this school. I feel like I can be whom ever I want to be at this school. And this school is extremely diverse and we don't have extracurricular activities, but we have clubs we do in school. Some clubs include: Biodiversity, Knitting, and Extreme Recycling. I have learned so much in this school. Not just about science and math but about myself. This I will be a graduate of 2009, and I don't ever want to leave! I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2007

Glen Urquhart offers a great math program which is ahead of most schools and most of the teachers at GUS willing to help any student. The school needs to improve on other departments like history, english and science to catch up with this top of the line math program. Also the diversity of the school is pretty poor and the Extracurricular activities could use improvement. The Principal leadership could also improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

The school has some appealing aspects: however, there is not enough diversity at the school and extracurricular activities are weak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

There needs to be more Extracurricular activities. The teachers are extremely committed; however the principal leadership is weak. One downside of this school is the diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

My two children attended GUS and found the teachers to be exemplary. With no exception, their teachers in every grade from K through 8 sincerely thought about the needs of my children, brought in extra help when the need arose, and helped them to be eager learners. My children are now both in college, one, who has dyslexia, has earned first academic honors every semester, and will be graduating Phi Beta Kappa in Economics, going on to law school; the other is thriving as a freshman at a prestigious college. Both learned at GUS how to trust their teachers and this expectation carried over to college and high school. The GUS experience served them well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2007

I sent my children here and they thrived! The math program is way ahead of most schools. Writing is taught throughout the grades and the students can express themselves well by the time they leave. The arts are emphasized in an age when many schools are eliminating them. Parents contribute their time and talent and are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2004

It is an awful school, they would not help my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

74 Hart Street
Beverly, MA 01915
Phone: (978) 927-1064

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brookwood School
Manchester, MA



Landmark School
Beverly, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT