Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Waring School

Private | 6-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Beverly

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $296,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

I cannot put it better that the June 14, 2013 reviewer below. The June 2012 replacement of the longtime head has definitely impacted what was a superb school to which my family will forever be indebted. I would encourage parents of any applying student to seek the counsel of the parents of a recent graduate, as there is no question but that Waring's best years are behind it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

We have had concerns about Waring over the last year, which is perhaps due to the old headmaster leaving His loss is keenly felt and the dramatic shift in tone at the school possibly is preferable by some though we are quite saddened at the loss in vibrancy, mutual respect and community. I think it is important for new parents not to rely on the history of the school and to have their children speak with other students before they consider attending. As with all schools it is right for some and not others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

This school is a rare find in the world of schools! I am continually impressed by what and how my child is learning and how engaged she is. The teachers encourage students to think and learn as opposed to memorize. The standards are high and students are expected to accept responsibility for their learning. Teachers, hands on activity, seminar style classes, group tutorials and upperclassmen mentors are employed to fully engage students. French language fluency is fostered and international travel is a part of the high school curriculum. All graduates go on to 4 year college or university; this is an impressive statistic on its own. The administration is available and approachable by parents and students alike. The new headmaster interacts with all the students in various ways and the school community is happy with him. My child loves school, loves the Waring school and she is going to return for another year. All of the children in her class and most of the student body are returning as well. We feel lucky to have found such a wonderfully engaging school with a proven method of educating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2013

Waring turns out graduates who are independent, thoughtful, and multi-faceted, not to mention fluent in French and comfortable with international travel! The school demands a lot from students, including not only rigorous classical academic work, but also music, and music theory, participation in sports, and in theatre. Waring asks children to perform outside their comfort zones. But it gives a lot back: the faculty nurture children in multi-age group tutorials, and support them as they try new things -- including for upperclassmen, mentoring young writers and math students, under the supervision of a faculty member. Waring asks a lot -- and in so doing, Waring produces exceptional young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

The best school around, great for kids with a desire to become independent critical thinkers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

A great school. I graduated several years ago and still find myself appreciative of what I got out of Waring. The teachers are exceptionally dedicated, the coursework is rigorous, the sense of community is strong. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 1% 8%
Hispanic 1% 16%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 Standley Street
Beverly, MA 01915
Phone: (978) 927-8793

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Landmark School
Beverly, MA





East Area
Beverly, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT