Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harborlight-Stoneridge Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 290 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Beverly

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $296,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

the most amazing group of Infant and Toddler professional teachers, warm, nurturing and mindful of the incredible capabilities of infants and toddlers. it is a joy to work with them everyday.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 13, 2014

My children are in their third year at Harborlight and i continue to be amazed by how rich the Montessori learning experience is. This school places an emphasis on community, mutual respect and inspires an authentic love of learning. We are so fortunate and so blessed to be at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

I have been attending this school for over 10 years and it's been such a wonderful experience :). The teachers here are always willing to help a student in need of assistance. You get to learn at your own pace, and everyone is extremely nice and accepting. Starting from the time I attended this school i have had nothing but happy moments and nice teachers. The real negative i have to say is that teachers seem to rotate a lot (The good ones always stay though). The school is great and I would recommend it to anyone!!! Also there was a previous comment about a kid who claimed that teachers had singled him out, which is false! I knew him and he was a complete troublemaker he was rude and disrespecting. He had to leave because he was viewing inappropriate material on his computer. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL ^.^ - Student of Class of 2014


Posted September 20, 2013

We've been at Harborlight-Stoneridge for over fours years and we as parents, and my son as student, could not be happier. He learns more in each year than I'd have thought you possibly could and he loves it. The program is truly a curriculum for the 21st century in that it builds in high standards for character, collaboration, independent thinking and a true love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2012

The administration and some teachers were just plain rude. I attended for 1 month and they "pinpointed" me as a bad kid when I know in my heart of hearts I did nothing wrong. I don't recommend this school to anybody. It's their fault they are getting such a low review.


Posted August 2, 2010

We consider ourselves extremely fortunate to have found Harborlight for our children. Our children have found this school to be their home away from home and the faculty their extended family. It is near impossible to put into words the value of the education they are receiving that puts them head and shoulders above their peers, but even more valuable to us as their parents is the people they are becoming! It is worth every cent of tuition and we also appreciate the many families who are part of our lives through the school's generous financial aid program. Our children have attended the infant-toddler program, early childhood/kindergarten and elementary...we are staying because of the middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

I have been teaching at H.M.S for over 5 years. It is an amazing school full of truly inspiring staff, but more importantly amazingly gifted children. I advise anyone interested to stop on in for a tour !
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 27, 2009

Well i go to this school in the middle school, and it is amazing! It isn't a normal middle school, it is very unique. We learn at our own pace, and if you want to excellerate in something you can. Or if you want to go slower, you can. We are very individualized in some sbujects and grouped together in other subjects. overall THE BEST SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

Both of my children attend. This is school is beyond the normal. My just turned 5 year old reads, writes, and speaks basic spanish. Most of all they LOVE TO LEARN because of that they are shown. One problem is $$$$$ rates are going up again and might be out of out range.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

Both of my children attend this school, one in the toddler program and the other in the preschool. Activities for children are plentiful and creative, with an emphasis on enabling children to do practical life tasks for themselves, giving kids an appreciation for the environment, and teaching children to respect themselves and each other. We have been very pleased with the progress both of our kids have made, and with how nurturing their teachers are. It's a great school for kids who thrive in an atmosphere that encourages self-direction and independent learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 5:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • David Hursty
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AISNE
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (978) 922-0594

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

243 Essex Street
Beverly, MA 01915
Website: Click here
Phone: (978) 922-1008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Waring School
Beverly, MA



East Area
Beverly, MA


St Mary School
Beverly, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT