Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Billerica Memorial High School

Public | PK, 9-12 & ungraded | 1624 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2010

We love this school because the teachers are very good and the whole education experience has been very wonderful in this town from preschool to the present .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

I graduated from BMHS in 2007. I must say compared to a lot of my friends schools, in many aspects we were ahead of the game and in others we were behind. Nevertheless, overall this school is a good school. Almost all of the teacher's are outstanding and really make the process of college preparation a tad bit easier. I noticed after sophmore year the objective of the teaching process changed. It was one where a student had to be responsible for his or her actions and progress. That didn't mean the teachers left us to out own devices. It just means but they tried to wean us from the reminders about work or behavior because in college your responsible for your success. College is what you make it. In the end I am glad I attended this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2008

My children have excelled at BMHS. They are always being challenged in the honor classes in which the are enrolled. If your child is motivated they will be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

As a parent I was very disappointed in this high school. I would like to hear about any problems soon after they happened, not 3 months later when it is too late for me to help. I also went to this high school and I am sad to say it has not changed. At Billerica High there is no help for parents and the kids are just a number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

This school might be a pain sometimes to students, the work, the dragging days in winter, but i got the help i needed in my courses and I graduated, and without those awesome teachers I had I would not be where I am today and I am thankful for those great people. BMHS really does have good staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 4, 2005

I took my son out of BMHS last year simply because it is a horrible school. If you ask me Billerica school systems in general are a complete disgrace. BMHS did nothing for my son academically. He might as well of been at a circus! I don't recommend this school to any parent. Your child will get a much better education at a private high school. I bet Shawsheen Tech is probably a much better school than BMHS too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

I graduated BMHS in 2001 and I have to say that the school did an excellent job preparing me for college. The information that I learned at BMHS has vastly helped me with my college career. I feel my self sitting in class and knowing information that no one else knows, or have read books that no one else has, and I feel that it has helped me immensly. I would highly recommend sending your children to this school, most of the teachers are great, they are more than willing to work with students, most care about the well-being of the students, I feel that the school is well run and is a great resource for any high school student.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2004

I would NOT recommend BMHS to any student. I graduated a couple years ago and I wish I went to a different high school. The school administration is horrible and they don't really care about the students. When the state came to give BMHS their accredidation, the school put up all these posters expressing unity dignity and enrichment. They even put out couches in the hallways. Of course once the state left, all those things came down. BMHS lives up to a phony mission statement which means nothing to the staff, or to students. The administration tries to make this school look a lot better then it really is. It might as well be called Billerica Memorial 'Gilded' High School. Teachers and principlas also do nothing to help students in danger of graduating. They love giving students their chume out slips. byebye! no diploma for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

BMHS was such a challenging school that college actually seemed easier for me than high school. Thanks for a great education.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male93%
African American92%
Asian84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female87%
Male80%
African American54%
Asian84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
Female87%
Male80%
African American80%
Asian84%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

71%

Average SAT score

1536

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 2% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (978) 528-8719

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 River St
Billerica, MA 01821
Phone: (978) 528-8712

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Locke Middle School
Billerica, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT