Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marshall Middle School

Public | 6-8 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2013

This school is GREAT! Teachers are professional, helpful and very responsive - they responded to all my emails within a day or so. My daughter attends this school since grade 6 and so far she had not reported any issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I absolutely love this school. I have 2 daughters and a son that go to this school and they all love it. The only thing that bothers me is that the teachers and staff are strict on the rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

My son is presently in the 8th grade at the Marshall. I've heard negative comments about the school, but my son's (and my) experience has been very positive. We've been very happy with the majority of his teachers and with the level of learning. In fact, I would rate a few teachers as being exceptional. The principal is very hands on and makes every effort to get to know the kids personally. All schools have their problems, but I believe the Marshall is one of the good ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

the marshall middle school is a great learning environment! the teachers are amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

I grew up in Billerica, went to all levels of schools here, and I can tell you that the schools have improved greatly since I attended. I was not a Marshall student, but as a Marshall parent I have been impressed. The Principal is most approachable, personable and responsible. My daughter has enjoyed almost all of her teachers, and has been successful in school. Billerica needs to continue to work on their schools, but I don't think this is by any means, the 'worst' school as stated in some of the ratings. Some of the rules are extreme, but unfortunately every rule seems to come from a prior incident. I have spoken to the principal about a rule or 2, and he always works to find solutions. Many teachers spend countless hours arranging school trips and dances, and I commend them for that. More parents should volunteer to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

this school is the worst school i have been to the teachers don't treat all the kids the same.bulling and teasing go on evry day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

The staff at this school is the worst I have ever come across. Not only do I find them to be rude and unprofessional and treat the kids like they are all misfits, but thier discipline system is outragous. Kids get detentions for the silliest things while bullying goes without consequence. I pack up and move out of this town before I let my other children attend this 'school'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

I went to this school when I was younger. The new rules of this school are outrageous and I myself would not be so picky like the administration is. The education is reasonable, but the discipline policy is ridiculous.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 26, 2004

My daughter has excelled in Marshall. She is a straight 'A' student and her teachers are all excellent. They have even taken the time to writer personal letters to parents to let them know how wonderful the kids are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

It was extremely difficult to have my child evaluated and placed into special education classes even though it was extremely apparent that my child was not succeeding in the general population classes. It took over a year of fighting to get him the help he desperately needed, and in less than one semester in Spec. Ed. he went from failing to honor roll.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Female80%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students59%
Female67%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female87%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I79%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students46%
Female44%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Title I21%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Female88%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students54%
Female57%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female38%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities4%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 2% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (978) 528-8679

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15 Floyd St
Billerica, MA 01821
Phone: (978) 528-8671

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Locke Middle School
Billerica, MA



Murphy & Dwyer Academy
Chelmsford, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT