Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
310 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Boston Catholic Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Carr is a fabulous leade. The school is well served by her presence and leadership

South Boston Catholic Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Made sure ISEE preparation was implemented. Worked hard to ensure success on this exam for all students


South Boston Catholic Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
Strong ethos of caring and accountability. Religious principles of the catholic faith form the foundation of this school

South Boston Catholic Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Excellent school, caring teachers and staff. Our child looks forward to each and every day. We couldn't be happier with SBCA.

South Boston Catholic Academy 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school! I have had two children go to this school. From the small classrooms to the dedicated teachers and leadership committed to the children it has been a great fit. My children are not just being taught through books and tests they are having values instilled in them. Faith, compassion, kindness are all important parts to nurture in our children today and that is definitely what they strive to do at SBCA.


South Boston Catholic Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2014
- a parent
This is truly the 'little school that could!' After considering several expensive private schools in Boston, we took a chance with SBCA. Ok, it's not in Back Bay, and the tuition is a quarter of most others, so it lacks in snob appeal. However, importantly, it is a great little school! Yes, a fabulous, safe school in South Boston, with great teachers who actually care. My two sons were welcomed with open arms by the school and staff and it has been excellent from day one. We transferred from London, England and were used to excellent schooling so naturally we were anxious about the curriculum and teachers. Would the class work be rigorous and challenging enough, particularly for my year six child who is quite academic. Our concerns soon vanished after seeing the level of work our children were doing and witnessing the high standard of teaching. Both year 6 teachers, Ms. Richardson and Ms. Moriarty, helped my son during a very challenging first term and guided him thru his ISEE exam preparation keeping us in the loop during the entire process. We look forward to him entering Boston Latin School in the fall. I am confident our sons could not have achieved a better schooling anywhere.

South Boston Catholic Academy 5

Posted July 28, 2013
- a parent
It is the best school in this community.In three months I saw a lot of progress on my son, the teachers are high qualified,friendly and very committed.The principal and also the whole staff are dedicated and very hard worker. Children and parents are treated with respect,professionally and very welcoming.The excellent education is always worth every penny..S.B.C.A. is the school for my kids.

South Boston Catholic Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
This is a wonderful neighborhood school, a rare thing these days! While there has been turnover with the principal, one need only look to the staff for reassurance. There is VERY LOW staff turnover. They are excellent, committed teachers. There is also a very professional and consistent staff (secrretary, custodian, counselor, etc.). It is a safe, welcoming and comfortable environment. The parents, pastor and priests are very involved in the school on a daily basis, and that sends a wonderful message to the kids. The children do have music, art, computeer lab and library time. There are extra curricular acitivities like CYO sports and scouting. I am very thankful that the pastor is committed enough to the school to be willing to make tough choices, like letting go a principal who was not working out. That shows true commitment to the children's best interests and I am grateful for it!


South Boston Catholic Academy 4

Posted September 17, 2007
- a parent
The problem I have with St. Brigid's is the high turnover rate of the principals. My wife and I are considering a new school for our kids for the 2008 schoolyear.

South Boston Catholic Academy 4

Posted April 26, 2006
- a parent
I love this school. My children are happy here and the quality of the education they are receiving is better then most schools in the area. I was however disappointed when the spanish class was cancelled. Both of my children were looking forward to taking it yet neither one did. Also extracarricular activities are a nil. They could try for more afterschool programs, ie; sports.

Nearby schools

South Boston Catholic Academy
866 E Broadway, Boston, MA  02127
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (617) 268-2326
Last modified South Boston Catholic Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top