Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Peter Academy

Private | PK-8 | 125 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

Excellent teachers, very involved parents, close community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers and staff make my child feel right at home
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We are an amazing community. We have an amazing principal, a dedicated staff, and awesome families who are so involved in our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love St Peter's Academy because it has such dedicated teachers. They are welcoming and caring and looking out for our childrens best interest. We are new to the school and I have the comfort level that I had at our prior school and that is very important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

SPA is a parent driven independent school with a Catholic focus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

St. Peter Academy is an amazing school. It is not only a school, it is a family. The faculty, staff, and parents are amazingly talented and loving. St. Peter's is one of a kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Small class sizes and the special attention paid to the various learning styles of each student make this school great. The school is made up of a great parent/teacher community that is very involved and the principal is a leader who truly cares about each child as well as her staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

St. Peter Academy is a warm, nurturing, environment where kids learn in creative and unique ways. The faculty is dedicated to the goal of our children reaching their fullest potential and striving to be the best they can be both academically and spiritually! Our family loves St. Peter's!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

A great energy filled/run school by both staff and parents/community. I am new to the scchool and love how involed we as parents can get to make sure our kids have an encouraging, fun, safe and educational environment around them. St. Peter Academy is my daughters ' other home' and if she thinks that at 3.5 years old then I guess we are in a great path.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

St. Peter's has a great faculty to student ratio with a caring & nurturing environment for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

St peters has awesome parental involvement and a unmatched commitment to excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Without a doubt, the best school in the world. Dedicated teachers and staff. We are all part. Of one big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

It is a small school with a big heart. Children get individual attention, and classes are tailored to their learning needs at the time. They are small enough to be flexible in and out of the classroom, but strive to have every child work harder and smarter than they thought they could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

It is a great loving and nurturing atmosphere. The family is the focus of support for the students. Every family member is involved in the shaping of our young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

This school is a small, community school. The teachers and students know everyone in all the grades, not just their own. Parents, teachers and students all work together as a team. What a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

St. Peter Academy is a great place for everyone! Children are in small classes. They are treated on an individual basis with respect and offered opportunites for unique learning experiences. Parents are given the chance to provide lots of imput into school decisions. Teachers are allowed freedom to create curriculum to cater to their classes' needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

St. Peter Academy is all about the kids! The kids LOVE it! Parents love it too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

This is a wonderful catholic based school. The teachers are great and treat every child as an individual, rather than just a number. I know that my children are learning in a safe, welcoming community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My family loves St. Peter's Academy! The staff knows each student and their families. You can see how much they care about every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

I am a student here and it a a great school they are willing to stay after school wth you if you need help with anything. Classrooms and number of students are small but it is a great school. ''10'' -8Th grade graduateinngg
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 16%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (617) 268-2492

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

371 West 4th Street
Boston, MA 02127
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 268-0750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Perkins Elementary School
South Boston, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT