Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Peter Academy

Private | PK-8 | 125 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2012

Excellent school. The parent-teacher-administration relationship is collaborative. The school is a real gem. The city, community, and region should be more aware of St. Peter's philosophy. With no public funding or ties to the archdiocese (or other entities), the parents are very involved and the administration is very aware on making every effort to keep tuition low. You can't say that about any school. Teachers are hands on and the student-teacher ratio is low; the curriculum is very challenging but very rewarding. The children come out of this school far more prepared than their peers for high school and college. With so many entities throwing money or tax increases at failing schools, SPA stands out. It doesn't ask for handouts and doesn't make excuses that it is underfunded for poor performance; it teaches children. When people hear their story, they had no idea such a school existed. More foundations and charities should be aware of SPA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

I love the close knit family feel of St. Peter Academy. They really care about every child individually and it really shows! They make it fun to learn and not a chore to go to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

St Peter Academy has the best, most involved and caring families. Our school has overcome overwhelming adversity, financial struggles and a lack of respect by our community. Our kids deserve the best and our teachers and Principal give much more than they need to - out of their own pockets and give so much of their own time! We couldn't be where we are without them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Great group of teachers and children. Awesome family cooperation and commitment to the community. All around, great school!


Posted October 12, 2010

I am an alumni, a parent and an aunt .... i have loved this school and all it has taught me, and wish the same wonderful memories and experiences for my children and relatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

St. Peter Academy is a loving school filled with caring teachers, supportive staff, and engaged parents. The small size of the school ensures that every student has a voice and is heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

St. Peter Academy is dedicated to continuing to build a school that is committed to the promotion of a high level of academic, spiritual, and personal growth. Thanks to the dedication of its teachers and parents we are well on our way!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 10, 2010

Parents and teachers are very involved in the school and it's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

It's a small catholic based private school. Everyone knows everyone there. It's a tight knit community. And my child loves it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

family friendly, safe environment, dedicated teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

I love St. Peter's Academy because each and every day everyone at the school works as a community to make it the best possible place for learning!


Posted October 5, 2009

What a great group of parents and faculty who come together for the express goal of boosting the children both in academics and spirit! Small class size, engaging and experienced faculty, and a rigorous curriculum set the standard at this parent-driven school with a Catholic focus. I've had three children who have successfully absorbed the philosophy of St. Peter's at the elementary and middle school levels, two of whom are in college and one who can't wait to go. All their efforts at St. Peter's prepared them for their continued education through high school and beyond. And they give back to their community as a lifestyle, having learned the ropes at St. Peter's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

SPA is a school that not only educates but focuses on the children being good people. Being a small school no child goes unnoticed and every parents concerns and ideas are considered. I couldn't think of a better atmosphere for my children to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Its a small neighborhood school that not only provides my children with a high degree of academic challenges as well as a loving, nurturing environment filled with dedicated teachers!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers are caring and the small feel makes it a great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

At SPA, the work is rigorous and the students are well-prepared for entrance exams to high schools, but the overall mood of the school is easygoing. The teachers really seem to enjoy their jobs and they provide a lot of encouragement and academic support to children who are struggling. I have had three children at SPA, and it's been great for all of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers and staff are amazingly dedicated to the school, and the children are getting a solid education. It has a wonderful feeling of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love it. The parents actually have a say. It's a parent-run school. And the kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers and staff are very dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My children are receiving a very good education in this unique, nurturing educational environment that is almost like a second home--where everyone knows everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 16%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (617) 268-2492

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

371 West 4th Street
Boston, MA 02127
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 268-0750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Perkins Elementary School
South Boston, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT