Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shaloh House Jewish Day School

Private | PK-6 | 103 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $260,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

I am a parent with two kids that are currently attending Shaloh House. I strongly recomend the Kindergarten Junior class. The teachers are so wonderful, they found a perfect blend between play and academics. In less then a year, my child started to understand, speak and read Hebrew with no knowledge of it prior to the class. As well the teachers cover Math and English. The kids get lots of play, music, gym and art. I heard that Shaloh House Kindergarten class is as impressive. My child does not want to leave the school when I come to pick her up! which to me says alot. The uppers classes are a different story. I am on the fence this year. Some teachers are great. The Math and English and Judaics teachers are wonderful with a gift for instilling love of their subject. There are lots of fun projects that the teachers come up with, including science fair, creative inventions fair and poetry jams. The whole school gets excited for these events and the kids have lots of fun participating and supporting their pears. Some other teachers need improvement. I do feel that the school is a little disorganized and can use some direction. They need to create a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2014

This school is yet another example of a poorly run Yeshiva. They claim they are academically advanced and provide a rigorous curriculum but what they are really doing is teaching children to memorize and regurgitate math facts. The Rosh Yeshiva is rude, disrespectful, and inconsiderate. If you don't speak Russian don't bother contacting them, they won't want anything to do with you. This school is does not conform at all to usual welcoming and heimish environments one usually finds at Chabad organizations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

Shaloh House is unique for the incredibly high level of academic excellence combined with the relaxed joy of learning students feel. The teachers are supportive, kind and nurturing. The administration is always responsive. Small class sizes mean individual attention on a level that is unparalleled. I am so grateful that a friend encouraged us to take a look at Shaloh House. It is a tremendously positive learning and growing opportunity for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

Best kept secret in town, this school has everything a parent would ask for, small classrooms, dedicated attention to each child, positive attitude, variety of skills and knowledge, advanced level in teaching, variety of extracurricular activities (music, sports), hot breakfast/lunch served on premises and best of all highly talented and inspiring staff, leaders and teachers. My kids love going to school, I never heard them say the contrary in several years. Very Highly Recommend! MD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

Every parent wonders if what they are doing for their child is right. Every year that my children attend Shaloh house, I know that it is right. Every year they advance academically, artistically, musically and physically. The school's staff is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

Great school, very dedicated staff and high academic standards. School also has a nice summer camp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Very good school. I have my children in both pre-school and elementary school, and we all extremely happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

Great school. High academic standards for both religious and secular education. frienldy atmosphere. no religious pressure on parents. children are well loved and cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

My daughter has been going to Shaloh House for several years and she is very happy there. Shaloh House is a growing Jewish Day school which is unique in that it combines quality Torah and secular education with arts and physical activity. Every week, my daughter has gymnastics, karate, art and music. Other extra curricular activities include chess and Russian. The staff creates a warm and enthusiastic learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Black 0% 8%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 16%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 4:05pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Merlyn Carey
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Fax number
  • (617) 787-4693

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Hebrew
  • Russian

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Russian
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Karate
Girls sports
  • Karate

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29 Chestnut Hill Avenue
Boston, MA 02135
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 787-2200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Edison K-8 School
Brighton, MA




Edison K-8
Brighton, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT