Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Winsor School

Private | 5-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $204,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

Winsor is, of course, one of the top girls schools in the country. The matriculation list is astounding, SOME teachers are sooo overqualified, and all of the girls work extremely hard. As others mentioned, however, some parts of the staffing need some serious work. The math department, other than the fantastic Ms. Reynolds, is pitiful compared to the english and history departments. One teacher barely speaks english, one seems like teaching is the last thing he wants to be doing, and pretty much every teacher acts like they truly don't want you to succeed. I'm hoping the school takes the feedback it has gotten on the math department and steps it up. This is not a reason to go to a different school, but definitely something the school needs to work on.


Posted May 15, 2012

Great School! I love it there even though the academics are rigorous... it's an amazing environment to be in.


Posted April 23, 2012

I go to Winsor and it is such a great school! the academics are very rigorous and challenging but still very fun and enjoyable. You get a ton of homework but make amazing lifelong friends. Coming to Winsor was one of my best decisions! It is very well known for its outstanding college matriculation as well.


Posted March 17, 2010

I currently attend the Winsor School and I LOVE it! Everyone is so nice and the teachers are amazing! I have learned so many things that I will use throughout my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2010

I am a current student and the winsor school is giving me vital skills for life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2009

Winsor is a good school. There is still lot of room for imrovement.They should try to make their math dept more stonger.Also the students can be given more homework.


Posted December 6, 2009

Winsor has a phenomenal reputation that it does not live up to in the middle school. My daughter although socially very happy hasfound the academics unstimulating and surprisingly rigid in their philospophy and teaching. I find the environment inhibitory to my daughters intellectual exploration. The academcs in the core subjects are no better than a very good public school system - Newton, Brookline, Wellesley etc. The extras like physical education, art, drama, and language are very well done and far exceed anything you would receive in a public setting. My daughter does not find the academics difficult although the sometimes rigid expectations and intolerant comments to alternate points of view can be. I understand that rigor improves in the upper school. The current administration really needs to improve the middle school dramatically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

A Winsor education is the best thing you can do for your daughter. It opens doors that even a Harvard degree could not. It opens your mind to real life learning in addition to rigorous academics. I graduated 14 years ago and I hope to send my daughter there one day. It is the best education, and more importantly, a life opportunity for any young girl.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2009

I recently graduated from Winsor and truly adore the school. Winsor teaches students three things: the facts, how they can be spun, and how to over-analyze them. By graduation, most people have found a tolerable balance between the three.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2009

I can't say enough good things about this school - the faculty is amazing, the students are friendly and motivated, and the curriculum challenging and rigorous. Winsor truly deserves all its accolades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

The mathematics department is average, at best. If you seek a stimulating math or science curriculum, you may be better served elsewhere. School can be clicky. They need to introduce more AP choices and allow for acceleration of highly able students to remain competitve. If you crave a small single gender school for your daughter (and this is your main criteria), this can be a good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

I go to winsor and I absoulutley love it! Its the best place to be-you feel not only comfortable but happy too!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2009

best education in the east coast, probably the country. great college admission. warm, loving, engaged environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

I really love Winsor. I am currently enroled in classes there, and I can't find many faults. Although a previous comment states that 9th grade is the best time to apply, I disagree. I came in 5th grade, when everybody was new, and I made some very special friendships. In 9th grade, only ten new students are accepted, and even though it's fairly easy to make new friends, I don't think it is the same as being with the same people from before highschool started.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

My advice to prospective students is: Wait until 9th grade to apply here. You can get the same ducation at a good public school in grades 5-8 (Lower). Beginning in 9th, the school takes the girl's education more seriosuly. That's when they deep six the empty, liberal, 'diversity' agenda for real learning, IMO.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

I am a recent graduate of Winsor, and I cannot say anything but great things about this school. Initially, I was skeptical, and only went to Winsor because my parents made me. But over the next seven years of my life, I grew to love Winsor. It is hard for me to explain in words how fondly I look back on my days there. I thank Winsor every day for preparing me for the workload at college. I go to Northwestern University now, and I can honestly say that in some classes, the work is more difficult at Winsor. But beyond academics, this school has taught me so much about friendship, trust and love. My friendships from Winsor are ones that I know will last a lifetime. Out of the 58 girls in my class, there was not one that I didn't consider my friend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2008

My Winsor experience varies greatly from the other reviewer. Winsor is inconsistent with applying knowledge to their students---as the teaching staff is so inconsistent. There are some great teachers and then some that are 'so-so'. In my exerience, it is not so academic as it comes off--the school has been mostly easy for my daughter and not very tolerent of differences, unless we are talking about etnhic/cutural background differences--and then they are very tolerenat and supportive. I guess it is not clear exactly what Winsore is looking for!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 6%
Black 7% 8%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Hispanic 3% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCGS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

103 Pilgrim Road
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: (617) 735-9505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lawrence
Brookline, MA


Farragut
Boston, MA



Manville School
ROXBURY CROSSING, MA



Tobin K-8 School
Roxbury, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT