Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Newman School

Private | 9-12 | 250 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $745,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

Maybe one of the most underrated schools in Boston. The Newman School has a dedicated staff and serious student body (even more so now than when I attended as it is an IB accredited school). The school has always striven to provide a diverse environment in which students learn from each other and their unique experiences and cultures which can only benefit a person. Newman helped open my eyes to the world, and helped me be prepared for college life better than my peers. It is a wonderful school with teachers who will stay for hours after classes end to help you learn material. Definitely a top school in Boston.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2012

Many students do well at this school, but every year they seem to have a few students that the teachers and administrators treat as an outcast. They have a policy of "not inviting back" a few students each year; not for disciipline or academic issues, but simply because they "aren't a good fit" for the school. This does serioius damage to the students identified for this rejection.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Fantastic school. Great school culture, with a real openess to the opportunities for each student's development. The school administration is very understanding and experienced in dealing with young people. They also make ready use of the cultural and intellectual resources of Boston. Newman strives to live up to its namesake's great vision of education and is one of the best educational opportunities in the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

The IB program at Newman will set your son or daughter apart from the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

My son is a freshman at Newman School and it has surpassed my expectations. Their academic standards and the programs they offer make me proud to have a son that attends. He is the oldest of four and all of them will be attending Newman too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

I graduated from Newman several years ago. Newman is a wonderful place. The students and teachers create such a welcoming community, where everyone knows one another and everyone feels at home. The school offers rigorous coursework that prepares students for some of the top colleges in the country. At Newman I took AP courses, rowed crew and played soccer, participated in community service, and made great friends from all over the world. What is really special about Newman is the close relationships that students and teachers forge throughout the students' time in high school. Newman is a fantastic place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2008

great location, great teachers. A good place to make friends from all over the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2007

Great teachers, small classes, awesome location.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

Wonderful school. My son loves this school even with all the work he has to do. What an opportunity to be able to go to high school in the city and this school take full advantage of Boston. This is my first choice and only choice for the rest of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

Opportunities abound. Boston is a learning mecca and Newman uses it to its full advantage. The educational programs are challenging and wonderful.My daughter loves the school. Her only gripe is dress code. There are dress down days sprinkled throughout the year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Newman is the best school if you want your child to succeed in life. The academic programs are taught very well by experienced teachers are staff. The motto is cor ad cor loquiter. Meaning heart speaking to heart. The teachers look out for the student in every way they can. The teachers teach life lessons to the children that will help them later on in life. Extracurricular activities are every where at Newman prep. However, if they don't have the specific activity your child wants, if your child gets a teacher to sponsor the activity and more student who want the activity, the activity will be created. There are also sports for all genders. They have softball, baseball, basketball, and other things. Parent activity is very welcomed at Newman. They like it when parents volunteer their time to help the students out. In all, Newman Preparatory School is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

I believe the quality of academic programs at this school is excellent. I do not feel they have enough for art, my child loves art and not enough is dedicated to this subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 24% 6%
Black 8% 8%
Hispanic 8% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (617) 267-7070

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

247 Marlborough Street
Boston, MA 02116
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 267-4530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



William Mckinley
Boston, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT