Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Newman School 5

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
Amazing School unlike other high schools. Rigorous B Curriculum sets students apart. Diverse population and truly a school that embraces the city. Faculty and administration nurture the students as well as providing and excellent learning environment. Students go on to top universities. Many students call it their second home. No school in Massachusetts can provide what Newman can.

The Newman School 4

Posted November 18, 2014
- a community member
Academic-wise Newman is a great environment. Kids enrolled in the IB Diploma curriculum are generally very competitive, especially with the overwhelming presence of international students. However, the number courses are limited compare to other institutions. The teachers are very, I really mean very dedicated. They do their best to help students and they do not mind students coming up in the middle of lunch of after school for questions. I really think the teachers are the best part of Newman. In a small class size (mostly, there are classes that reach more than 20 like Economics, History, etc.,) the teachers do know how each student is but it is up to the student to reach out and really get involved to benefit the most from their teachers. Most of the teachers at Newman teach more than just one subject, they are very versatile. They tend to be challenging at times but very understanding. . The most disappointing part of Newman was the College Counseling. There was only 1 person in charge of college apps and that person was also the schedulers, and IB Coordinator. My senior class had more than 100 students, impossible for 1 person to handle efficiently.


The Newman School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a student
Maybe one of the most underrated schools in Boston. The Newman School has a dedicated staff and serious student body (even more so now than when I attended as it is an IB accredited school). The school has always striven to provide a diverse environment in which students learn from each other and their unique experiences and cultures which can only benefit a person. Newman helped open my eyes to the world, and helped me be prepared for college life better than my peers. It is a wonderful school with teachers who will stay for hours after classes end to help you learn material. Definitely a top school in Boston.

The Newman School 1

Posted May 28, 2012
- a parent
Many students do well at this school, but every year they seem to have a few students that the teachers and administrators treat as an outcast. They have a policy of "not inviting back" a few students each year; not for disciipline or academic issues, but simply because they "aren't a good fit" for the school. This does serioius damage to the students identified for this rejection.

The Newman School 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
Fantastic school. Great school culture, with a real openess to the opportunities for each student's development. The school administration is very understanding and experienced in dealing with young people. They also make ready use of the cultural and intellectual resources of Boston. Newman strives to live up to its namesake's great vision of education and is one of the best educational opportunities in the city.


The Newman School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
The IB program at Newman will set your son or daughter apart from the rest.

The Newman School 4

Posted May 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Newman School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Newman School and it has surpassed my expectations. Their academic standards and the programs they offer make me proud to have a son that attends. He is the oldest of four and all of them will be attending Newman too.


The Newman School 0
no rating

Posted August 27, 2008
- a student
I graduated from Newman several years ago. Newman is a wonderful place. The students and teachers create such a welcoming community, where everyone knows one another and everyone feels at home. The school offers rigorous coursework that prepares students for some of the top colleges in the country. At Newman I took AP courses, rowed crew and played soccer, participated in community service, and made great friends from all over the world. What is really special about Newman is the close relationships that students and teachers forge throughout the students' time in high school. Newman is a fantastic place.

The Newman School 5

Posted July 05, 2008
- a student
great location, great teachers. A good place to make friends from all over the world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Newman School
247 Marlborough Street, Boston, MA  02116
(617) 267-4530
Last modified The Newman School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
The Newman School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top