Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Parkside Christian Academy

Private | PK-10 | 157 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $356,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, November 19, 2014

This school is lacking in leadership, financial stability and sometimes even in the planning and structure for academics. This school would be much better with more knowledgeable leadership. I just wish they would have brought in new leadership and administrative support. It lacks a lot of unprofessional teachers. Like most small schools that is 99% black you will have a lot of gossip and to much family which makes it to clinked.


Posted Monday, November 17, 2014

I am a former student of this school and it is safe to say that if the school had better funding it would easily be one of the best schools in Boston. But lack of funding and poor leadership are simply the demise of this amazing school. The things I learned at this school helped me greatly in life but its hard to recommend a school to people when they aren't even sure where they will be having class in the next year or two. That school holds dear to my heart but is honestly struggling to function the way it should be. And it would be a shame if the school closed before the next senior and juniors could find a place to move on to.


Posted November 14, 2014

Parkside has great teachers that foster a wonderful community for kids to learn how to become excellent citizens of the world. However they are lacking in leadership, financial stability and sometimes even in the planning and structure for academics. This school would be much better with more knowledgeable leadership. My son did enjoy his time at parkside and I always knew he was loved when he entered their doors, I just wish they brought in new leadership and administrative support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2014

Love this school for my daughter it has given my daughter lots of great values, academic success, and great friendships have been made. I always bump into a parent who has removed their child from Parkside and they all have said their child is re-learning every thing they learned in a previous year at Parkside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

Horrible, horrible, horrible school. If I could, I would rate this school less than one star. If you don't believe me try it for yourself. You will regret the day you enrolled your child in this school. Don't believe what the school leaders say about this school; they lie about EVERYTHING!!!!! Like I said, if you don't believe this review, try it out and then come back to this site and tell us what you think. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

Excellent learning atmosphere and diverse student body. Students display excellent dicipline. Teachers are very dedicated to academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

I graduated from parkside 6 years ago and it's memories still impact my life. I love the teachers enthusiasm for their students learning and they helped break social and racial boundries. Children can grow with the mentality that alot of people including our country's leaders lack and that's that being able to be culturally aware because it is a major issue that other schools lack due to uniformality. I have always attended the best private schools and they made me feel slightly out of place because the faces were the same and i felt like an imperfection. I am african american and due to lack of funding private schools aren't affordable to many but believe me there is no place like parkside, where a child can fit in, grow comfortably and gain education that isn't just based on text books but a walk through life with great guides!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 8%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hispanic 1% 16%
White 1% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 Forest Hills Street
Boston, MA 02130
Phone: (617) 522-1841

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Neighborhood Schools
Jamaica Plain, MA


Agassiz
Jamaica Plain, MA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT