Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Boston Latin Academy 1

Posted November 04, 2015
- a student
Administration is horrible! The worst type of people to have to communicate with. They dont care about anyone but themselves.

Boston Latin Academy 4

Posted June 15, 2015
- a community member
I graduated Latin Academy in 2013 with high honors and got accepted into 8/11 colleges I applied to. Now that I'm an alum, I'm able to reflect back on my overall experience at BLA. Pros: A HUGE variety of AP course offerings - many of my fellow alums are ahead in college credits due to that. By far the biggest benefit of the school. There's a lot of support from your guidance counselors when applying for college as well. They walk you through the process including how to apply for financial aid. Oh, BLA also gives out a ton of scholarships to the graduating class for those who apply to them. The teachers that are actually good, are very supportive. Tons of support finding good after school/summer employment opportunities through BLA's partnership with PIC. The student body is also incredibly diverse and there's a variety of sports options. Cons: Bad administration. Although there's a lot of good teachers, there's still a good amount of bad ones. Lack of funding is significant as well. How can an exam school have such poor conditions? Outside of sports, there aren't that many clubs. If you take advantage of what the school has to offer and work hard, you will end up in a decent college. From what I've seen from my peers - including the ones that didn't do so well during their time at this school, we all collectively agree that BLA prepared us well for college in terms of getting used to the work load and the level of difficulty. While at certain points I felt rather miserable at the school, it wasn't until after graduating and going to college debt free that I realize how supported I was at BLA.


Boston Latin Academy 1

Posted November 16, 2014
- a community member
I go to this school now. This school is just so bad. They always ask for money when you get your report card. They send the money on things they dont need like paper trays for food.... like really. Plus no one listens to you. Only the honor roll we give reward to only the honor roll. When other kids in the school do their best and try their hardest and only the honor roll people get stuff. They get to have a voice while us just one point and i could have gotten an honor roll are not good enough. Don't go to this school it is bad no one likes it. There is so much stress. People throw food at you when you get out of the lunch room, stick gum in your hair, laugh at you if you walk funny, and ugh this school is just so annoying. They expect so much from you. Some of the teachers aren't that bad. But everyone else are just a bunch of ughhh cant write this without a swear. The school is just bad dont go there no one cares about you in this school.

Boston Latin Academy 2

Posted April 09, 2013
- a community member
I went here in from 9th grade in 2003 to graduation in 2007. Most of the staff, administration, and many teachers could not care less about you a human being. There none of them understood that life outside the school walls like family and work affected your performance in school. Guidance counselors included were of no support. Many a times when students in math class would have a question about the material, the teacher would respond "it's in the book." How funny, because I read the book, and now I have a question. The book is not getting paid a salary to teach. Thanks for nutritious honey buns for breakfast every morning, and the vitamin packed pizza and dry tater tots every lunch. Thank goodness the school is right next to McDonalds for an even healthier alternative. The staff must look at the student as a whole, speak with them one on one, guidance counselors and teachers alike. Teachers need to teach, not just relay info and mark whether it was regurgitated back properly. Guidance counselors should guide, actually help each grade instead of popping up just at the end of senior year. The one positive change was implementing the rotating schedule and activities period.

Boston Latin Academy 1

Posted April 06, 2013
- a community member
Really this school is just a wannabe of Boston Latin School. It does not specialise in anything in particular ( Boston Latin School specialises in humanities and The O'Bryant specialises in Math and Science). Kids here do not seem to be motivated by anything. You'll be lucky to get into Umass Amherst If you go here. Teachers are okay and Administration sucks. Thank god I transfered out of this school to O'Bryant I can say that I am happy now that I will be attending Harvard next semester.


Boston Latin Academy 3

Posted February 27, 2011
- a community member
I am a senior here and I know that our school would be a lot better if they stopped dumbing down the exam test and had FEDERAL FUNDING. It is hard to be happy at a school that doesnt have cetain sports, and cannot afford to get new books or buy a printer that does not give teachers problem every week. It is also hard for a teacher when the education system itself is changing into something worse than it already was. And to make matters worse, the government is having budget cuts towards education again.

Boston Latin Academy 4

Posted November 01, 2010
- a parent
BLA has some great teachers but administration is bad

Boston Latin Academy 2

Posted October 22, 2010
- a community member
i go to this school now and i hate it. we don't have any paper most of the times. we also don't have toilet paper. i would not recommend this school. i honestly want to leave it because i do not like the sports there or the education.


Boston Latin Academy
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
My grandson attend there and has done exceptionally well. It's is an excellent academic school particular for math and science.

Boston Latin Academy 4

Posted March 18, 2010
- a student
Boston Latin Academy gives a lot of support to its students. Many teachers and students help each other out and the curriculum is based on the classics and Latin. However, there are some students who can't take the challenge and there are some teachers who give no support at all. Overall the school is a great school but some students and teachers slack off.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Boston Latin Academy
205 Townsend Street, Boston, MA  02121
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 73 reviews. (617) 635-9957
Last modified Boston Latin Academy is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top