Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Boston, MA

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted December 06, 2009
- a student
snowden is a very good school i think one of the best in the city of boston i am a current student and i enjoy attending the school. i recommend this school for students that take school serious and want to have a good future.

Snowden Int'L High School 1

Posted May 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted July 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted October 12, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted October 17, 2005
- a former student
I am a graduate of Snowden (Class of 05) and Snowden has helped me to graduate in top 10% of my class as well as get into a great college that will hopefully broaden my career paths. They have Truly helped fulfill all of my high school goals. Snowden by far is one of the best schools in Boston if you want your child to have a bright future and a great education. The teachers are there to talk with the students on an academic level, as well as a personal level. The classes are in a small environment so that the students get the one on one attention they need and are not looked at as just a face, but a face with a name. I give Snowden 10 stars for being the best at what they do!


Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted September 02, 2005
- a student
I am a high school senior at Snowden and it is by far is the best school in the Boston public School System. It offers things that no other school in Boston can, which only helps students trying to distinguish themselves from others while applying to college. They offer an International Scholarship, require students to take four years of a language(Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, or French), and they allow students to learn of other cultures. They offer student exchange programs, and culture trips(Since my freshman year snowden has travelled to Russia, Spain, France, China, and this year, we're travelling to the Netherlands). The teachers are top-notch for the most part;they show a genuine care for the students, a quality most teachers cannot honestly say they have. Though the main building isn't glamourous, we have annexes at the YWCA and Cloud Foundation. If you want your student in college, send them to Snowden.

Snowden Int'L High School 4

Posted August 29, 2005
- a student
Overall I think Snowden is a great school. I understand the frustration other parents have upon the facilities, but this school is above and beyond your typical Boston public school. For you critics of Snowden, have you been around this school for 4 years? Have you ever thought about the budget cap this school has to face? Let me give you an 'FYI' for any viewers out there, this school enforces the no tolorences policy for test scores 60 and below because they want the students to succeed. If your child is not able to meet this standard, then your child needs to find another schools that suits them. As for facilities wise and activies, this school offers track, baseball, basketball and have various clubs such as Model UN, Asian club. Snowden is diverse, the teacher are not all about MCAS! they prep you for college courses and I as-an-example-got-a-full-scholarship-from-NEU-tru-Snowden's-dedicated-teaching.

Snowden Int'L High School 2

Posted August 10, 2005
- a student
Academically, Snowden is no better or worse then any of the other Boston Public High School. Although their test scores are higher, it is only because its only 1/4 of any regular school and all the teach are MCAS taking skills, and that is their overall focus, test taking. Extracurricular activities there are horrible. They have no gym for the athletes to practice in, they have no room for all the students, and the main building is in horrible condition. After establishing a new rule that makes anything lower then a 60% to fail, many students have failed and gone to summer school, or more likely to drop out because the graing there is way too difficult. In my opinion, Snowden should be shut down or given a new building.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Snowden Int'L High School
150 Newbury St, Boston, MA  02116
(617) 635-9989
Last modified Snowden Int'L High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Snowden Int'L High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top