Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Snowden Int'L High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 23, 2015
- a community member
Snowden has students who repeatedly fail in grades, Bad Behavior that is not addressed by the Administration, yet they continue to focus on these students instead of the students who are striving to achieve goals. The new principal is not available nor the staff to contact.

Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are very hands on with the students. Excellent communication, teacher's go above and beyond to help a student.


Snowden Int'L High School 1

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
The administration and a majority of the teachers are unprofessional and don't seem to care about the success of the students and are more concerned with making friends with the students. The principal is useless. Parents are usually the last to be notified in important matters. It's almost impossible to get a return call from anyone. The school is dilapidated and in need of serious repairs. It's sad that a school in the heart of Boston that should be a pride for the city is rotting from the inside out.

Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted December 06, 2009
- a student
snowden is a very good school i think one of the best in the city of boston i am a current student and i enjoy attending the school. i recommend this school for students that take school serious and want to have a good future.

Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted October 17, 2005
- a student
I am a graduate of Snowden (Class of 05) and Snowden has helped me to graduate in top 10% of my class as well as get into a great college that will hopefully broaden my career paths. They have Truly helped fulfill all of my high school goals. Snowden by far is one of the best schools in Boston if you want your child to have a bright future and a great education. The teachers are there to talk with the students on an academic level, as well as a personal level. The classes are in a small environment so that the students get the one on one attention they need and are not looked at as just a face, but a face with a name. I give Snowden 10 stars for being the best at what they do!


Snowden Int'L High School 5

Posted September 02, 2005
- a student
I am a high school senior at Snowden and it is by far is the best school in the Boston public School System. It offers things that no other school in Boston can, which only helps students trying to distinguish themselves from others while applying to college. They offer an International Scholarship, require students to take four years of a language(Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, or French), and they allow students to learn of other cultures. They offer student exchange programs, and culture trips(Since my freshman year snowden has travelled to Russia, Spain, France, China, and this year, we're travelling to the Netherlands). The teachers are top-notch for the most part;they show a genuine care for the students, a quality most teachers cannot honestly say they have. Though the main building isn't glamourous, we have annexes at the YWCA and Cloud Foundation. If you want your student in college, send them to Snowden.

Snowden Int'L High School 4

Posted August 29, 2005
- a student
Overall I think Snowden is a great school. I understand the frustration other parents have upon the facilities, but this school is above and beyond your typical Boston public school. For you critics of Snowden, have you been around this school for 4 years? Have you ever thought about the budget cap this school has to face? Let me give you an 'FYI' for any viewers out there, this school enforces the no tolorences policy for test scores 60 and below because they want the students to succeed. If your child is not able to meet this standard, then your child needs to find another schools that suits them. As for facilities wise and activies, this school offers track, baseball, basketball and have various clubs such as Model UN, Asian club. Snowden is diverse, the teacher are not all about MCAS! they prep you for college courses and I as-an-example-got-a-full-scholarship-from-NEU-tru-Snowden's-dedicated-teaching.

Snowden Int'L High School 2

Posted August 10, 2005
- a student
Academically, Snowden is no better or worse then any of the other Boston Public High School. Although their test scores are higher, it is only because its only 1/4 of any regular school and all the teach are MCAS taking skills, and that is their overall focus, test taking. Extracurricular activities there are horrible. They have no gym for the athletes to practice in, they have no room for all the students, and the main building is in horrible condition. After establishing a new rule that makes anything lower then a 60% to fail, many students have failed and gone to summer school, or more likely to drop out because the graing there is way too difficult. In my opinion, Snowden should be shut down or given a new building.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Snowden Int'L High School
150 Newbury Street, Boston, MA  02116
(617) 635-9989
Last modified Snowden Int'L High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Snowden Int'L High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top