Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12 & Ungraded
Public charter
Boston, MA

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Match Charter Public School 5

Posted August 01, 2010
- a community member
No way, this school gets under a 5 star any parent that is mad that there student didn t graduate is because the school does not let up on being tough.

Match Charter Public School 5

Posted August 31, 2009
- a parent
Match is a school that pushes a child to be the best that it can be and this can be seen from the various test results and the high college acceptance. Althought my son struggles to meet the goals that is set before him, he is determine to succeed. The school population is diverse and parent's participation is greatly encourage. The school hours are long but in the end it is worth it to see your child succeed. the school is great!


Match Charter Public School 3

Posted June 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Match Charter Public School 0
no rating

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
I am very comfortable in giving this school a #5 - the staff members are committed and caring, the teachers are a dedicated group that are fully vested in giving personal attention to each student, and truly concerned about the education and welfare of each child entrusted to them. Relationships are forged beyond the years of high school, and there is such an outpouring of resources for each student. It's an amazing place to be educated, mature into adulthood, and prepare for life as a college student, and as a positive contributor to making students into the next generation of thinkers and doers!

Match Charter Public School 5

Posted November 29, 2008
- a parent
Match school is though and it is not for everyone, my daughter had her up and down days, but it is challenging days, she was not putting her best effort last year but because of the strong rules and encouragement she is doing better, some might say it is not a good school, but those who left which is a few, when they enter another school they are on top of their grades due to what they had learn from match. if you want a school that teaches discipline, perservance and challenge then match is the one. I choose match because after the exams school in Boston, you have no good choose, our kids are performing as well as the exam school. and we did not have to do an exam to pick the the kids that come to our school, we get kids from all background. Great school


Match Charter Public School 5

Posted November 28, 2008
- a parent
This school really makes students work hard! Every child has a tutor that he or she works with for 2 hours per day. They push students to meet their potential and they never give up on our children. My child has really improved in the 2 years he has been at MATCH. For the first time, he actually cares about his education and shares books that he is reading in english class. The school also has amazing results on the MCAS - all students pass and most get advanced and proficiency. The MATCH is in the top 10 for math, english and science scores. But the best part is that the school is like a family. the teachers, tutors and principal really care about the kids. When my child is at school, it is like another home.

Match Charter Public School 5

Posted September 24, 2008
- a student
this school is so cool i like coming here

Match Charter Public School 1

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
This school is not good at all. I had to pull my child from this school because the things that were taught had big gaps in them and there seems to be no opportunity options for my child. I recently went over to Cambridge Rindge and Latin and enrolled my child, the extra-curricular activities are better and so are the clubs along with teacher involvement. This school has potential but it's not good.


Match Charter Public School 0
no rating

Posted June 11, 2005
- a teacher
Good people work here with the best interests of the students. As a Charter School, they are not a model that can't be duplicated (which is why Charter Schools came into existence). They rely on workaholic teachers, proximity to a university (for a steady source of college students to provide after school tutoring) and most disturbingly, they can't get by with what the state provides in funding. They run shortages of $300,000 or more per year and look to fund raising and private donations to offset this difference. As long as they can do that, more power to them. But it is NOT something that other schools can expect to do every year. PACRIM school is a much better example of what a Charter School should look like.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Match Charter Public School
1001 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA  02215
(617) 232-0300
Last modified Match Charter Public School is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Match Charter Public School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top