Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jackson/Mann K-8 School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Both of her teachers math and ELA are excellent so far I have both but positive experiences.

Jackson/Mann K-8 School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in AWC so I expect her to have about 2-3 hours worth of homework every night.


Jackson/Mann K-8 School 4

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
My daughter's teacher Ms Joyce is great. I am blessed that my daughter's teacher is an experienced math teacher with 14 years under her belt. A month in and I can see the difference in my child's attitude towards math.

Jackson/Mann K-8 School 2

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
Jackson Mann isn't really one of the best schools to send kids at. I'm a former student from there and graduated from eighth grade a few years ago , I can say you barely learn anything there. Only 20 % of the teachers are good teachers, while the rest can hardly go through a lesson, and to top it off the principal and administrators do an awful job over there. Once a good school in the 1990s and 2000s is now a place to tell you keep your students away , I only gave it 2 stars because some of people over there were awesome. You'll regret sending your kid to Jackson Mann

Jackson/Mann K-8 School 1

Posted October 27, 2012
- a community member
This school should be closed immediately and anyone who disagrees is either one of the many bad teachers there or one of the (sorry if this offends you) retarted parents that send their children their. I am a former student who attended it in the second grade. In all honesty, it was the worst year of my life. I got in two fights (without looking for trouble)and learned almost nothing all year. At the end of the year, my mom took me out of there and put me in a charter school (catholic). If your hesitant about the money, don't be. Financial aid is there if you need it and I was smart so I got scholarships. After that, I took the ISEE, got into the high 90s (percentile), and applied to a number of great schools. Schools that Jackson Mann kids (the truth hurts) could only dream of attending. I got into many of them and made my decision. Now I'm a sophmore at that school, playing three sports, and thriving in my studies. I can truely from the bottom of my heart, say the none of this would have happening if my mom didn't take me out of Jackson Mann. If there aren't many options in your area, my sister went to hamilton and edison middles schools. Just stay away from Jackson Mann. Please!


Jackson/Mann K-8 School 1

Posted July 25, 2010
- a community member
If you value your childs sanity do not let him or her go to that school. If you don't want you child to be confronted with with drugs and violence do no let he or she go to the Jackson mann. Though my years in the Jackson Mann were AWSOME!!!! I didn't say educational but awsome!!! P.S. Some teachers don't raven teach anything and some are just awsome.

Jackson/Mann K-8 School
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a student
dont go to here, its loud and u cant learn anything!!!!!!

Jackson/Mann K-8 School 5

Posted December 31, 2006
- a parent
This is the best school in Massachusetts to me the principal and the vice principal are wonderful they really care for the students and the family


Jackson/Mann K-8 School 4

Posted April 10, 2005
- a parent
My daughter attends this school and my son will attend next year. A wonderful teaching staff, and a wonderful principal. One of the few great Boston elementary schools.

Jackson/Mann K-8 School 4

Posted November 14, 2004
- a parent
Three my children have gone to Jackson Mann since they were 5 years old. It is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. She is a great example of a leader. Thank you Jackson Mann for bringing out the best in my children and giving them the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson/Mann K-8 School
40 Armington Street, Boston, MA  02134
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (617) 635-8532
Last modified Jackson/Mann K-8 School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top