Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Uphams Corner Charter School

Charter | 5-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $498,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2009

I loved it when i was there Mr.Cook was awesome and so was Ms.Gray.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

UCCS lacks a coherent discipline policy and is very poorly managed. The teachers try but they are not given any support.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2007

I changed my daughter to this school and have been pleased about the attention they give to her and what they have done to meet her needs. She is now much more interested in learning than she was before, and I feel the school really cares about her education and they care about her as a person. The teachers and staff are very approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2006

My son is on an IEP, before coming to UCCS he was in a substantially seperate class most of the time. But at UCCS, he has been in the regular ed class most of the time with some pullouts.He has been meeting all his benchmarks. He likes his teachers and we feel that we have good back and forth communication with the teachers. We feel the teachers are very dedicated. It is a school where the teachers know all the students by name. The school is well disciplined so class time is devoted to teaching. It is a safe nuturing enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

My son went to Boston Renaissance last year and hated it, this year he loves his teachers, loves his school, and I have even seen the quality of his work go up in only a short month. The faculty seems to care a lot for the needs of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

This is not a great place if you want your child to get an education. Your child will constantly be sent out of class and education is definately not priority. They are extremely biased and very confused. Disciplinary action is extreme and they are very unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

Uphams Corner Charter School is not a school to send your child to. It will not only aggravate the students but stress out the parents as well. Overall, the staff/faculty are extremely unorganized and their learning methods can be confusing at times.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 266-2007

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carter School
Boston, MA





William McKinley
Boston, MA


Tobin K-8 School
Roxbury, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT