Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5 & Ungraded
Public
Boston, MA

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
This school has excellent academic standards and rigor -- as well as and an opportunity for kids to partake in a variety of Physical Education modes - including swimming from 2nd Grade up.

Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
My wife and I are parents of a K2 student now at the JQS, and we couldn't be happier. Our son had been in Montessori pre-school programs, and we were concerned with how he would handle the transition. In short, the experience has been great. The facilities and programs at the JQS are excellent. We've been very happy with how our child has responded in the classroom, and proud of his participation in the school's impressive orchestra program. Art and Mandarin language classes have also been great. Great kids, involved parents and a committed faculty lead by very dynamic principal who truly wants to see the school grow and succeed.


Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
The Josiah Quincy Elementary School is an amazing school providing an terrific education for students. When my daughter was there from Kindergarden to Grade 5, she had a great time with her friends which was great influence. Compare to a lot of other schools in the district or around the city, JQS is one of the best schools possibly. Her teachers paid attention to her and made sure that there was no peer pressure or much bullying happening at the school. There's also many special enrichment activities such as swimming for Grade 2 and up, taught by professionally trained trainers. There's also club every Friday for 5th graders and also, many other after school programs such as Girls Scout. There was always involvement with the parent and teacher meetings, and the principal was always being a good role model and greeting the teacher after school and in the morning. Honestly, this is one of the best schools in Boston. My daughter felt fine fitting in, even with moving from Bilingual to Advance Work Class for 4th and 5th graders. Lastly, there's also shows for Chinese New Year, Christmas, etc. Great learning experience! If you're planning on moving to this district, pick JQS!

Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a community member
I attended this school from K2-5 and I have to say, I thank this school for where I am right now. The teachers are very nice and caring, and I felt like family at this place for 6 years. The school is separated into 2 schools, the elementary and upper(middle/high school). Most of the students from the elementary school move on to the Upper. I can't say much about my JQUS experience compared to my JQES experience since I attended for one year before attending an exam school.

Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2012
- a parent
There are 2 different schools The Josiah Quincy Elementary and the Josiah Quincy Upper School. I don't have experience with the JQS Upper School but the Josiah Quincy Elementary School is an excellent school! The teachers are caring, supportive and informative. They appear to work very hard from what I see in their classrooms, at school events, in the work coming home and in the progress I see with my child's learning. I found the teachers I have known there to be talented at teaching and motiving kids. They seem to understand that all kids are different and they both challenge and support. My kids looked forward to going to school every day. The school also offers great before and after school enrichment classes like sports, gymnastics, art, music, and yoga. It has Advanced Work program available to some students for grades 3,4,5 too, which is even more challenging compared to their already tough regular academic programs. It's a great school.


Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2012
- a parent
Excellent teaching from the school and my child has learned pretty impressive things from the school.

Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
The teachers at JQES (PK - 5) work closely with the parents to ensure that the children receive the best education possible and that the learning doesn't stop at the classroom. These teachers go above and beyond for our kids. We all share the same goal of putting the children and their needs first. for this reason there is a strong parent group willing to donate their time and energy to the school as well.

Josiah Quincy Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
It's focus on language and culture makes it a great learning environment for kids.


Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Josiah Quincy Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2007
- a parent
Fewer students and some of the greatest teachers in Boston make JQUS tops over the best exam schools where a child can get lost in the crowd.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Josiah Quincy Elementary School
885 Washington St, Boston, MA  02111
(617) 635-8497
Last modified Josiah Quincy Elementary School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Josiah Quincy Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top