Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Boston University Academy

Private | 9-12 | 160 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $204,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2008

BU Academy is a fantastic school for bright, inquisitive students. The focus is academics, the environment is supportive and nurturing, while giving students the opportunity to explore areas of study at Boston University. This is really a unique school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

We have been very Happy with BUA. The quality of instruction has been high in all his academic classes throughout. The other children by and large have been intellectually curious, collaborative, generous and nice kids. Our son has been allowed to take a course for gifted children outside of his regular classes and given help by one of his BUA teachers. It is true that BUA is not a 'sports' school. However, we knew that going in and that was not our, nor his, priority. That said he has enjoyed playing sports there and has increased his skill level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

In my experience as a parent, BU Academy is not an ideal fit for a motivated and very strong academic student with leadership ability. The 'newer' administration is more concerned with uniformity than individuality, despite what it reads in the BUA brochure. The turnover rate for staff is unusually high and has left many parents concerned. The best college counselor who was there for years recently departed too along with other strong staff and has left some parents of seniors and juniors worried. The school has lost it's niche and it's edge. I feel there are serious misrepresentation issues at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

I agree that BUA is not what it presents itself to be. Students should be cautious to make sure that their needs will be met prior to commiting to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

BU Academy does not present an environment that encourages individual academic pursuit. The school often shuns individuality, despite the ability to take university classes. I would not recommend this school to anyone who has any ideas that don't go along with the norm.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

BUA has provided an incredible learning experience for my daughter, who is now a Senior. The teachers and staff are caring and nurture the intellectual and emotional development of the student. Although the school is small, it provides a wide variety of activities and resources, including an affiliation to BU, to provide one of the best educations in Boston.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

BUA offers the best of all worlds. BUA itself has small class sizes which offer individualized attention. Beginning junior year, students may take courses at Boston University. If your child is advanced in a given area, they may very well take a graduate level course at BU! No other high school in the Boston area can complete with such a course selection! My son is currently a senior going through the college application process and I am truly amazed at the dedication of the college counselors. Both teachers and the administration are top notch. BUA is hands-down, an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

BU Academy is a fantastic academically rigourous school, with a supportive staff. The BUA students benefit from the location and use of all the Boston University Facilities, equipment and support. BUA is very small and the students develop a strong relationship with their teachers. Junior and Senior year students can take classes at Boston University. BUA lets student be who they are, with out any stigma being attached to being 'smart'. Overall BUA is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

My son is a junior who was able to test out of the first year in Latin and Math thus enabling him to take more advanced classes. He is currently in 2 university classes, like most of his classmates. His experience has been wonderful and even though the depth of sports choices cannot be large, because of the small class size(35-40 per grade) he has played basketball, goes sailing and participates in tennis. Many of the teachers have PhDs or Masters degrees in their subjects and they challenge their students constantly. My son was accepted in Boston Latin but after going to classes for a day in both schools decided on BUA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

My son is a senior at BUA. This school has superb teachers and offers individualized instruction, especially in the Junior and Senior years when the kids can take BU courses (the sky is the limit!). I think it has been an excellent choice for my son as he has been intellectually challenged and has a great group of friends. The small size does have some disadvantages such as a relatively small pool of students, but this is offset in my opinion by the close-knit community that keeps the kids safe, and the high level of student-teacher interaction. Also, this school really focuses on the 'life of the mind', and appears to bypass some of the social pretense that is pervasive at other area private schools. And I would rate the facilities and extracurricular activities as superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

Boston University Academy does not individualize even for the highly intelligent student. But, students who are far ahead in math due to prior studies, homeschooling or tutoring, etc. may be identified and have the opportunity to possibly move ahead (even one taking college math as a freshman), but it seems to stop there. BUA is really just another expensive prep school but smaller and without the campus. It is located in a small, lone building with no physically inclusive amenities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 6%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 5% 8%
Hispanic 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 University Road
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: (617) 353-9000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ivy Street School
Brookline, MA


Meridian Academy
Jamaica Plain, MA



Winsor School
Boston, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT