Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Boston Trinity Academy

Private | 6-12 | 220 students

We are best known for academic rigor, diversity, and compassionate community.

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $241,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

BTA has been an outstanding experience for my boys. The environment has a very international feeling, with a focus on social justice and the global experience. The classes are small; my boys no longer feel invisible. The curriculum is rigorous, with an emphasis on classical literature and history. As a parent you can tell what's going on in class via their website portal, which is a huge relief (at public school I could never tell what was going on). I was worried that the religious foundation might be overbearing or interfere in some way but this is not at all the case. The science curriculum is excellent. At BTA my boys feel valued, and at home. The social extremes and stressors which exist in public school are not found here. I am so happy to have found this school, and that my boys are having such a good experience with school. It's shaping their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

Speaking of the admission process: they don't seem to care about your child if they do not intend to accept your child at the school. It seems like they know way before hand which students they will accept but encourage you to go through the application process and pay the application fee. Did not experience any compassion from this school; they sent us a very cut and dry rejection letter and did not even take the time to get to know us the parents. On the other hand, my son was denied admission by another school who took the time to tell us why our son was denied. That school actually took the time to get to know us and our child. I really felt like they really considered our child but he was just not a good fit. Boston Trinity on the other hand, seem like they just didn't care. So much for being a christian school


Posted April 12, 2014

Boston Trinity builds up the mind and the heart - a diverse and supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

My daughter is in her 3rd year at BTA and we couldn't be happier with our choice. I knew BTA had a great reputation for excellent academics, but it has exceeded my expectations in that category as well as others. My daughter's teachers have been a complete inspiration to her and she has excelled to a whole new level as a student. She LOVES school and has wonderful friends their too. She is encouraged in her faith and is probably the most diverse school I have ever seen. As an educator myself, I am proud to endorse BTA. I can't imagine a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

We chose Boston Trinity Academy because we had heard that the academics were challenging, the teachers talented, the spiritual life vibrant, and the community warm. We found all these things to be true and we could not be more pleased with our decision to enroll in BTA. Our children are challenged in their academic efforts by teachers who teach a sophisticated curriculum but who also care deeply for each student. The kids are growing spiritually through the integration of faith with learning in the classroom. And, the community that has been built at Boston Trinity is one in which my children feel welcome and appreciated, where they can explore who they are and want to be in the context of acceptance, encouragement, and deep friendship, regardless of social, religious, or ethnic origin. We have never seen anything quite like this school and we are so thankful to be part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Our daughter was fortunate enough to be accepted by several schools in the Greater Boston Area; of those we chose BTA. We could not be happier - the administration has a clear vision of how they see the school; the teachers are amazingly accessible; the values (moral and scholastic) taught by all will serve the students very well later in life. Truly an amazing place - one where people from all walks of life (rich, poor, urban, suburban, natural citizens and foreign exchange) meld together to foster young people's growth and exploration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

One of the many things I live about BTA are the caring, committed teachers. They really do their best to make sure your child is learning. My child is being challenged academically, growing spiritually and becoming a more confident young man. The enivornment is intimate and family oriented - almost all the students know each other! BTA is a great place to be. I am planning for my child will be there until 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Come check out BTA. If you are looking for a school with true diversity that embraces the city and has high academic expectations you will like us. The staff are highly committed, compassionate, well educated and personally invested in the school. The kids are not perfect of course, but there is a high level of enthusiasm and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

The highest compliment we can pay Boston Trinity Academy is that we trust them with our daughter's education 100%. We spent more than a year making this decision. Our daughter is in her third year at BTA, and we plan to stay through 12th grade (2014!!) The teachers and administrators love working here, it is more than a job to them and they truly invest themselves in the students. They are passionate about teaching and passionate about their faith. They are the ultimate example of excellence for Christ. We couldn't ask for a better environment to prepare our daughter for college and for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I currently have 3 children at BTA (9th, 7th, and 6th graders). I can honestly say that our family loves this school. The greatest attribute of the school is the teachers and administrators. It seems to me that the teachers and administrators see their jobs as more of a calling than a job. As a result, the school draws wonderful students. My children are being prepared academically, spiritually, emotionally, and socially. My wife and I couldn't be more enthusiastic about Boston Trinity Academy. Go LIONS!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 30% 67%
Black 25% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 6%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Hispanic 13% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Boston Renaissance Charter Public School
Edward Brooke Charter School
Roxbury Preparatory Charter School
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Top Tiered Universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Arabic languages
Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Japanese
Korean
Russian
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Boston Globe Art Award (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Korean
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Frank Guerra
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (617) 364-3800

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Japanese
  • Korean
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • German
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Film Club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • TED Talks
  • Table Tennis/Ping Pong
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents Association
More from this school
  • Parents are connected to the school through online access to their student's grades and assignments. Parents receive an email update weekly which includes school announcements and scheduled activities.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

January 31, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
117
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
189
Students typically come from these schools
Boston Renaissance Charter Public School
Edward Brooke Charter School
Roxbury Preparatory Charter School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$1000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Top Tiered Universities
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 99%
Military - 1%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17 Hale Street
Boston, MA 02136
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 364-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





William H Ohrenberger
West Roxbury, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT